Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Fan, Nina Tso-Ning

    Violinist from Fort Collins, Colorado, who started playing at four years of age.  She attended the Banff Centre for the Arts, Harvard University, Indiana University and the New England Conservatory of Music.  Her teachers included Paul Biss, James Buswell and Sylvia Rosenberg.  In 1997, she became a member of the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra.


    She and fellow violinists Ruggero Allifanchini and Steven Copes and cellist Wendy Warner appeared in a recital at St. Paul’s United Church of Christ on 2nd October 2004.  Their program comprised “Cello Concerto in C” by Franz Josef Haydn, “Concerto Grosso in F, Op. 6, No. 2” by George Frideric Handel, “Divertimento No. 11 in D, K. 251” by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and “Moz-Art a la Haydn” by Alfred Schittke.


    On 29th October 2006, she and cellist David Carter and Esther Wang gave a recital at Gustavus Adolphus College that featured “Trio in A minor, Op. 50” by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky. 


    A smaller version of the SPCO was assembled on 14th December 2007 for a performance of Johann Sebastian Bach’s “Brandenburg Concerto No. 4, BWV 1049”.


    On 22nd February 2008, Nina and violinist Dale Barltrop, violist Sabina Thatcher and cellist Ronald Thomas gave the world premiere of Libby Larsen’s “Evening in the Palace of Reason”.


    She was one-eighth of an SPCO ensemble that interpreted Felix Mendelssohn’s “String Octet in E flat, Op. 20” on 14th May 2009.


    On 2nd October 2011, she was one of several musicians who participated in the Chamber Music Series at SPCO Center.  The recital opened with Gyorgy Kurtag’s “12 Microludes” and closed with a pair of Mozart works:  “Piano Quartet in E flat” and “Sonata in A for Violin and Piano”, with Jonathan Biss at the keys.


    She returned to her hometown as a guest soloist of the Fort Collins Symphony at Lincoln Center on 18th February 2012 for a performance of The Four Seasons by Antonio Vivaldi.



    1. http://content.thespco.org/people/nina-tso-ning-fan/
    2. http://americanpublicmedia.publicradio.org/programs/spco/programs/
    3. http://finearts.blog.gustavus.edu/2006/10/23/classical-string-and-piano-trio-to-present-recital-at-gustavus/
    4. http://content.thespco.org/music/compositions/brandenburg-concerto-no-4-in-g-johann-sebastian-bach/
    5. http://content.thespco.org/music/compositions/evening-in-the-palace-of-reason-libby-larsen/
    6. http://content.thespco.org/music/compositions/string-octet-in-e-flat-felix-mendelssohn/
    7. http://www.thespco.org/system/resources/BAhbBlsHOgZmIkYyMDExLzEyLzIxLzA3LzM4LzEwLzc4OS9TUENPXzIwMTFfMTJfc2Vhc29uX2NhbGVuZGFyXzEyLjIxLjExLnBkZg/SPCO_2011_12_season_calendar_12.21.11.pdf
    8. http://www.allmusic.com/composition/hommage-%C3%A0-mih%C3%A1ly-andr%C3%A1s-12-microludes-for-string-quartet-op-13-mc0002400124
    9. http://www.fcsymphony.org/aboutus/nutcracker.html
















    © Feenotes 2006-2013