Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Gardner, Matthew

    Violinist with the London Symphony Orchestra who appeared on their recordings, Bach to Brubeck, Classikhan, The Dust Bowl Symphony, Epiphany, Holst:  The Planets, John Adams:  A Flowering Tree, and Music of Hope.  He also performed on Fresh Aire 8 by Mannheim Steamroller.


    He went on a tour of China with the LSO in 2007.


    On 30th September 2010, the LSO were joined by violinist Viktoria Mullova for Sergei Prokofiev’s “Violin Concerto No. 2”, which was sandwiched between Dmitri Shostakovich’s “Symphony No. 5” and Richard Wagner’s overture from Tannhauser.


    Matthew is also a member of the sized-down LSO Chamber Ensemble, and they helped give the world premiere of Cicadas by Dagny Gioulami and Edward Rushton in Jerwood Hall at LSO St. Luke’s on 16th November 2010.


    On 20th March 2011, the LSO teamed up with soprano Elza van den Heever in a performance of “Four Last Songs” by Richard Strauss, which were bookended by “Symphony in Three Movements” by Igor Stravinsky and “Symphony No. 6” (“Pastoral”) by Ludwig van Beethoven.


    The LSO Chamber Ensemble presented a wall-to-wall Steve Reich concert on 12th October 2011 at LSO St. Luke’s.  The program comprised “Different Trains”, “Music for Pieces of Wood”, “Nagoya Marimbas”, “Sextet”, and “Violin Phase”.


    From 6th through 10th December 2011, Matthew played violin for the stage play Talking Heads by Alan Bennett at the KDC Theatre.


    The LSO performed “Dances from Powder Her Face” by Thomas Ades, “Symphony No. 1” by Sir Edward Elgar and “Viola Concerto” by Sir William Walton, with soloist Antoine Tamestit, on 10th January 2012.


    On 25th March 2012, they interpreted Bela Bartok’s “Piano Concerto No. 2”, with Yuja Wang at the keys, Mikhail Glinka’s overture from Ruslan and Ludmila, and Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade.


    They joined forces with the Ladies of the London Symphony Chorus, mezzo-soprano Christianne Stotijn and the Tiffin Boys’ Choir for Gustav Mahler’s “Symphony No. 3” at Barbican Hall on 1st April 2012.



    1. http://www.rolls-royce.com/china/en/activities/lso_image_gallery.htm
    2. http://lso.co.uk/page/144/30-September-programme/84/-/30_Sep___for_web.pdf
    3. http://lso.co.uk/page/145/16+November+programme/149/-/16_Nov_Discover_Prog___Cicadas_WEB.pdf
    4. http://lso.co.uk/page/144/20-Mar-programme/119/-/20_March_11_prog_final_for_web.pdf
    5. http://lso.co.uk/page/3562/Wednesday-12-and-Saturday-15-October-2011
    6. http://www.kdctheatre.com/2011/talking-heads/
    7. http://lso.co.uk/page/3624/Tuesday-10-January-2012
    8. http://lso.co.uk/page/3670/Sunday-25-March-2012
    9. http://lso.co.uk/page/3674/Sunday-1-April-2012
    10. http://www.artistdirect.com/artist/matthew-gardner/702429
    11. http://www.nonesuch.com/albums/a-flowering-tree
    12. http://www.discogs.com/search?q=Joyce+Nixon&type=all















    © Feenotes 2006-2013