Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Glossop, Keith

    Cellist with the London Symphony Orchestra who appears on their albums, Bach to Brubeck, Beethoven:  Symphony No. 7/Triple Concerto, The Dust Bowl Symphony, Epiphany, Holst:  The Planets, James Macmillan:  The World’s Ransoming/The Confession of Isobel Gowdie, Mahler:  Symphony No. 7, Music of Hope, Sibelius:  Symphonies Nos 1 & 4, Sibelius:  Symphony No. 2/Pohjola’s Daughter, Smetana:  Ma Vlast, the soundtrack of Star Wars, Symphony No. 1 Inspired by The Lord of the Rings by Johan de Meij, and Zappa:  Vols. 1-2.


    On 14th and 15th July 2007, he directed a string players’ course at Benenden Village Hall in Kent, England.


    The LSO were joined by tenor Roberto Alagna on 2nd May 2008 at Barbican Hall for an evening of highlights from Verdi operas such as Aida, La forza del destino, I Lombardi, Luisa Miller, Macbeth, Nabucco, Otello, Rigoletto, La traviata, and Il trovatore.


    In October 2009, Keith participated in the LSO’s “Symphonic Masters” series at Lincoln Center that included Franz Schubert’s “Symphony No. 5 in B flat major, D. 485” and “Symphony No. 8 in B minor, D. 759” (“Unfinished”) and Gustav Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde, “Symphony No. 4 in G major” and “Symphony No. 9 in D major”.


    He took part in their “UBS Soundscapes” program in October 2010.  These concerts featured “A Gentle Infinity” by Dorothy Ker, Glagolitic Mass by Leos Janacek with the London Symphony Chorus, “Symphony No. 2” by Sir Edward Elgar, “Trickster” by Sasha Siem, “Violin Concerto” by Antonin Dvorak, Violin Concerto” by Felix Mendelssohn.


    On 13th March 2011, the LSO performed the world premiere of “Halo” by Vlad Maistorov, and Ludwig van Beethoven’s “Piano Concerto No. 3”, with soloist Jonathan Biss, and “Symphony No. 7”.



    1. http://www.abrsm.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=22804&pid=505765&mode=threaded&show=&st=&
    2. http://www.barbican.org.uk/media/events/5348alagnawebversion.pdf
    3. http://www.lincolncenter.org/programnotes/GP-LSO-102109.pdf
    4. http://www.lincolncenter.org/programnotes/GP-LSO-102309.pdf
    5. http://www.lincolncenter.org/programnotes/GP-LSO-102509.pdf
    6. http://lso.co.uk/images/5_Oct_Final_for_web.pdf
    7. http://lso.co.uk/images/10___12_Oct_final_for_web.pdf
    8. http://lso.co.uk/images/13_Mar_final_prog_cropped_for_web.pdf
    9. http://www.allmusic.com/artist/keith-glossop-mn0001733628
    10. http://lso.co.uk/3314/Beethoven-Symphony-No-7-Triple-Concerto/86/-/LS00078_Digital_Booklet.pdf
    11. http://www.discogs.com/Gustav-Holst-Sir-Colin-Davis-London-Symphony-Orchestra-The-Planets/release/1039818
    12. http://lso.co.uk/3313/James-MacMillan-The-Worlds-Ransoming-The-Confession-of-Isobel-Gowdie/122/-/LSO0124_Digital_Booklet_0.pdf
    13. http://lso.co.uk/3308/Mahler-Symphony-No-7/129/-/LSO0165_Digital_Booklet.pdf
    14. http://lso.co.uk/3313/Sibelius-Symphonies-Nos-1-and-4/138/-/LSO0101_Digital_Booklet.pdf
    15. http://lso.co.uk/3313/Sibelius-Symphony-No-2-Pohjolas-Daughter/142/-/LSO0105_Digital_Booklet.pdf
    16. http://lso.co.uk/3313/Smetana-Ma-vlast/144/-/LSO0061.pdf











    © Feenotes 2006-2013