Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Goichman, Yana

    Violinist from the former Soviet Union who attended Academia de Muzica, Teatru si Arte Plastice, the Mannes College of Music, the Moldavia State Institute of Arts, and the Special Music School.


    In 1983, she became a member of the New York City Opera Orchestra.  Other groups with whom she has worked include the American Symphony Orchestra and the New York Pops.


    She participated in a Wall to Wall Opera concert with the NYCO at Symphony Space on 26th May 2007.  Highlights included the “Overture” from Richard Wagner’s Der fliegende Hollander, the “Prayer and Orchestral Pantomime” from Act I of Engelbert Humperdinck’s Hansel und Gretel, the “Quintet” from Act II of Georges Bizet’s Carmen, “Cheti, cheti, immantinente” from Act III of Gaetano Donizetti’s Don Pasquale, “O Mimi tu piu non torni” from Act IV of Giacomo Puccini’s La boheme, and the “Finale” from Act V of Claudio Monteverdi’s Orfeo.


    On 17th May 2008, she was back at Symphony Space with the American Symphony Orchestra in a Wall to Wall Bach Concert.  The ASO and Canticum Novum Singers performed Johann Sebastian Bach’s Mass in B minor, BWV 232.


    The ASO gave the American premiere of Vincent D’Indy’s Fervaal at Lincoln Center on 14th October 2009.


    On 15th November 2009, they offered up a late Romantic program that comprised Robert Fuchs’ “Serenade No. 1, Op. 9”, Hermann Goetz’s “Concerto for Violin and Orchestra”, Siegmund von Hausegger’s “Wieland der Schmied”, Richard Strauss’s “Symphony No. 2 in F minor, Op. 12”, and Ludwig Thuille’s “Romantic Overture, Op. 16”.


    Recordings on which Yana appears include A Girl Like Me, Music of the Sun and Unfaithful by Rihanna, Nature Boy:  The Standards Album by Aaron Neville, Never Been Gone by Carly Simon, North by Elvis Costello, Prokofiev:  Peter and the Wolf/Peter Schickele:  A Zoo Called Earth/Gail Kubik:  Gerald, Satyagraha by Philip Glass, and Songs I Heard by Harry Connick, Jr.


    In the field of music education, she has taught at Concordia College Conservatory.



    1. http://www.linkedin.com/pub/yana-goichman/11/262/6b7
    2. http://www.nycopera.com/aboutus/stafforchestra/orchestra.aspx
    3. http://www.symphonyspace.org/live/opera_1
    4. http://www.symphonyspace.org/live/opera_2
    5. http://www.symphonyspace.org/live/bach
    6. http://www.lincolncenter.org/programnotes/gp-aso-101409.pdf
    7. http://www.lincolncenter.org/programnotes/GP-ASO-111509.pdf
    8. http://www.artistdirect.com/artist/yana-goichman/612525
    9. http://www.discogs.com/search?type=all&q=Yana+Goichman&corrected=1
    10. http://www.philipglass.com/music/recordings/satyagraha.php











    © Feenotes 2006-2013