Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Grach, Evgeny

    Violinist who has performed with the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the London Symphony Orchestra, the LSO Chamber Ensemble, and Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg.


    In 1993, he and violist Paul Cortese performed Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s “Sinfonia Concertante” in Barcelona, Spain.  They were joined by violinist Jindrich Bardon and cellist David Runnion for Maurice Ravel’s “String Quartet”.


    The LSO offered up a balletic concert on 28th September 2003 that comprised Act II of The Nutcracker by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky and Petrushka by Igor Stravinsky.


    On 6th May 2006, members of the LSO Chamber Ensemble teamed up with pianist Helene Grimaud in a recital of Johannes Brahms’ “Cello Sonata No. 1 in E minor, Op. 38” and “Clarinet Sonata in E flat, Op. 120/2”, and Robert Schumann’s “Piano Quintet in E flat, Op. 44”.


    The LPO offered up Schumann’s “Overture”, Dmitri Shostakovich’s “Cello Concerto No. 2” and Tchaikovsky’s “Manfred Symphony” on 5th November 2008.


    On 19th October 2011, the LSO presented an all-Sibelius program that featured the Finnish master’s “Symphony No. 2 in D major” and “Violin Concerto in D minor”, with soloist Nikolaj Znaider.


    They joined forces with the London Symphony Chorus on 21st October 2011 in a performance of Ludwig van Beethoven’s Mass in D major (Missa Solemnis).


    Recordings on which Evgeny appears include Classikhan and John Adams:  A Flowering Tree with the LSO, and Richard Strauss:  Till Eulenspiel/Don Juan/Tod und Verklarung/Traumerei am Kamin with Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg.


    In the field of music education, he has taught at the Purcell School, and participated in the Canetti International Music Course and Guildhall School’s Centre for Orchestra initiative.



    1. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tr2RMbI6zcw
    2. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W9iAKMSSofo
    3. http://www.classicalsource.com/db_control/db_print_concert.php?id=1487
    4. http://www.classicalsource.com/db_control/db_concert_review.php?id=3410
    5. http://www.overgrownpath.com/2008/11/why-i-am-sorely-disillusioned-by.html
    6. http://www.gsmd.ac.uk/fileadmin/user_upload/files/Prospectus___Events_Guide/LINK_C4O_BROCHURE_AW_2.pdf
    7. http://www.festivalcanetti.com/course.html
    8. http://new.lincolncenter.org/live/pdfs/2011_gp/gp-2011-10-19-LSO.pdf
    9. http://new.lincolncenter.org/live/pdfs/2011_gp/GP-2011-10-21-LSO.pdf
    10. http://www.discogs.com/search?q=Evgeny+Grach&type=all
    11. http://hiresreview.com/album/strauss_r_till_eulenspiegel_don_juan_tod_und_verklarung_intermezzo_traumerei_am_kamin













    © Feenotes 2006-2013