Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Hall, Nicola (1969-Present)

    She is a classical guitarist born in England.  She studied at Chetham's School of Music and the Royal Northern College of Music. She performed from a young age and in 1986 achieved a high placing in the Toronto Competition and won the Polish International Guitar Competition.  She was also made "Commonwealth Musician of the Year in 1989" after winning the Royal Overseas League's Gold Medal, which was the first time it had been awarded to a guitarist.  Her performances have seen her appearing throughout the world in countries such as Japan, Holland and the United States, on stage and television.  Including many contemporary composers in her repertoire The composer Stephen Dodgson wrote "Partita No. 4" for her which she premiered at the 1990 Cheltenham International Festival. As a recording artist she has released several successful albums, as a teacher she has given masterclasses at West Dean International Festival and as a student she is currently attending Derby University and studying with the guitarist John Williams.    


    Nicola Hall recordings

    London 448 560 (CD: Days End - The Soft Sound of Spanish Guitar)

    Guitar - Nicola Hall  



    1. http://members.aol.com/wsgcmail/wsgcmail/hall.htm
    2. http://www.zohourian.com/Composer%20Biography/Hall-Nicola.htm


    Here she is performing Fantasia Hungara by Mertz....







    © Feenotes 2006-2013