Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Harwood, Charlie

    Keyboardist and vocalist who has done his share of session work as well as being an ersatz member of The Flying Burrito Brothers. 


    One of his earliest credits was Iain Matthews’ 1976 offering, Hit and Run.  In 1977, he appeared on the Juice Newton & Silver Spur album, After the Dust Settles.  Juice kept him on for 1978’s Well Kept Secret:  Other highlights from the year included Marcus Joseph’s Things I Meant to Say and Need to Know You Better, with Finished Touch. 


    In 1979, he performed on Sneaky Pete Kleinow’s self-titled effort, Sneaky Pete.  The two of them would soon be in the same band, The Flying Burrito Brothers.  Both of them were on board for 1981’s Hearts on the Line tour, and they left the band at around the same time to pursue other interests. 


    Charlie continued toiling in the studios, contributing keyboards and vocals to Rick Nelson’s 1981 LP, Playing to Win.  He fronted his own band from 1982 to 1983, and released one solo recording, In My World.  In 1987, he took part in Swampwater’s Reunion. 


    Then he made the cut on the FBB anthology, Hollywood Nights 1979-82, which was released in 1990.  A year later, he was back with the Brothers for some live dates in the Golden State.  In 1995, he laid down some demo tracks with the band, but you’re much more likely to hear him in all of his digitized glory on CD re-packagings such as The Flying Burrito Brothers’ Honky Tonk Nights and Sneaky Pete Kleinow’s Legend & the Legacy and The Shiloh Records Anthology.



    1. http://www.discogs.com/artist/Charlie+Harwood
    2. http://music.msn.com/music/artist-credits/charlie-harwood/
    3. http://www.answers.com/topic/hit-and-run-1976-album-by-iain-matthews
    4. http://www.answers.com/topic/after-the-dust-settles-1977-album-by-juice-newton
    5. https://music.msn.com/music/artist-credits/charlie-harwood/?sb=2&startingItem=1&ipp=10
    6. http://totonetwork.com/node/5227
    7. http://unclegil.blogspot.com/2009_08_01_archive.html
    8. http://members.chello.at/thomas.aubrunner/gib6.htm
    9. http://www.moonandthestarz.com/mv.htm
    10. http://www.greenbenches.com/GuestBk.html
    11. http://www.burritobrother.com/fbb7.htm
    12. http://www.groupee.com/displaycontent/content/phil-lee-july2009
    13. http://www.burritobrother.com/fbb11.htm
    14. http://www.cduniverse.com/search/xx/music/pid/7363984/a/Shiloh+Records+Anthology.htm
    15. http://music.shop.ebay.com/Music-/11233/i.html?_nkw=Harwood&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=












    © Feenotes 2006-2013