Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

     How, Liang-Ping

    He is a violinist, also sometimes called Ping-How Liang, who started to learn the violin when he was four and at seven years old debuted with the National Youth Orchestra of Taiwan. 


    His further studies in music were at the Curtis Institute of Music and the Interlochen Arts Academy. 


    Becoming internationally known he appeared with the New York String Orchestra at Carnegie Hall in 1974 and in 1980 became a member of the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, who he still appears with as a soloist nearly three decades later.  


    Working as a soloist and chamber musician he has performed with many other orchestras and ensembles on an international level including the New York Philomusica, the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center at venues such as the Grand Teton Music Festival, he Met Museum of New York and the International Music Festival of Sofia in Bulgaria. 


    He is currently the Second Principal Violinist with the Santa Fe Opera Orchestra in New Mexico. 


    Recording many albums he has appeared on A Set of Pieces: The Music by Charles Ives and Vivaldi: The Four Seasons/Fritz Kreisler: Concerto for Violin by the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, Hideaway by David Sanborn and Wayfaring Stranger: Folksongs by Andreas Scholl among others.


    Orpheus Chamber Orchestra recordings

    Adagio in G Minor (Tomaso Albinoni/Remo Giazotto)

    Deutsche Grammophon  429 390-2 GH (CD: Albinoni: Adagio, Pachelbel: Canon)



    1. http://www.placitasarts.org/Musicians/How,LP/LP_How.htm
    2. http://www.orpheusnyc.com/Musicians/Liang-Ping_How.html
    3. http://www.santafeopera.org/artistic/orchestra.php
    4. http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_m?url=search-alias%3Dpopular&field-keywords=Ping-How+Liang&x=15&y=19
    5. http://www.allmusic.com/cg/amg.dll?p=amg&sql=11:wbfrxqugldde~T4
    6. http://www.allmusic.com/cg/amg.dll?p=amg&sql=41:36721~T3
















    © Feenotes 2006-2013