Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Jackson, David

    Percussionist who attended the Royal College of Music from 1989 to 1992 and studied with Kevin Hathway, Janos Keszei and Gernot Schultz.


    In 1993, he debuted with the London Symphony Orchestra and joined their ranks officially in 1996.


    The LSO teamed up with the London Symphony Chorus and Andrew Marriner on 14th June 2007 for a concert that featured Claude Debussy’s “First Rhapsody for Clarinet”, sandwiched between Les Noces by Igor Stravinsky and October Cantata by Sergei Prokofiev.


    On 21st October 2009, the LSO appeared at Lincoln Center in a performance of Gustav Mahler’s “Symphony No. 4 in G major”, with soprano Miah Persson, and Franz Schubert’s “Symphony No. 5 in B flat major”.


    Many guests were on-hand at the Barbican on 16th June 2010:  Pianist Vladimir Feltsman, the LSC, soprano Sally Matthews, guest leader Joris van Rijn and guest conductor Xian Zhang joined the LSO for Francis Poulenc’s Gloria and Sergei Rachmaninoff’s “Piano Concerto No. 3”.


    On 12th October 2011, David was one of four percussionists at LSO St. Luke’s for a UBS Soundscapes program of music by Steve Reich which comprised “Different Trains”, “Marimbas”, “Music for Pieces of Wood”, “Sextet” and “Violin Phase”.


    Tenor Steve Davislim, conductor Peter Eotvos, the LSC and violinist Nikolaj Znaider were in the house on 8th May 2012, when the LSO interpreted Bela Bartok’s “Music for Strings, Percussion and Celeste” and “Violin Concerto No. 2”, and Karol Szymanowski’s “Symphony No. 3” (“Song of the Night”).


    On 27th January 2013, John Adams conducted the LSO and the St. Lawrence String Quartet in the U.K. premiere of his “Absolute Jest for String Quartet and Orchestra”. 


    Recordings on which David appears include:  Classikhan, Holst:  The Planets, John Adams:  A Flowering Tree, Mahler:  Symphony No. 3 and Music of Hope with the LSO; Fresh Aire 8  by Mannheim Steamroller; and, the soundtrack of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.



    1. https://lcm.uwl.ac.uk/en/staff-profiles/500-jackson-david.html
    2. http://www.barbican.org.uk/media/events/4200lso14juneprogrammenotes.pdf
    3. http://www.lincolncenter.org/programnotes/GP-LSO-102109.pdf
    4. http://data.instantencore.com/pdf/1001859/16+June-+Xian+Zhang,+Vladimir+Feltsman+%26+Sally+Matthews.pdf
    5. http://www.instantencore.com/buzz/item.aspx?FeedEntryId=152605
    6. http://lso.co.uk/images/08_05_Print_for_web.pdf
    7. http://lso.co.uk/thursday-17-wednesday-23-sunday-27-january-2013
    8. http://www.discogs.com/artist/David+Jackson+%285%29
    9. http://www.discogs.com/Gustav-Holst-Sir-Colin-Davis-London-Symphony-Orchestra-The-Planets/release/1039818
    10. http://lso.co.uk/3308/Mahler-Symphony-No-3/126/-/LSO0160_Digital_Booklet.pdf
    11. http://www.allmusic.com/artist/david-jackson-mn0000810036











    © Feenotes 2006-2013