Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Kessinger, Wolfgang von (1968-Present)

    He is a violinist and violist born in Kassel, Germany who learnt to play while he was young and while at school he studied with Richard Goebel, who founded Musica Antiqua Koln and gained an interest in the historical performance of music.


    In 1989, after leaving high school, he entered the Academy of Music and Drama in Hanover and was given a position in Musica Antiqua Koln in 1991.  He continued his studies in Hanover until 1994.


    He remained a member of Musica Antiqua Koln until 2000 and during his time with them performed at many national and international concerts and music festivals and played on several recordings.


    Some of his recordings include Antonio Caldara: Forgotten Castrato Arias by Concerto Koln,  W.A. Mozart: Le Nozze Di Figaro by Concerto Koln and Collegium Vocale Gent and Dowland: Lachrimae Or Seaven Teares Etc,  Johann Adolf Hasse: Salve Regina, JD Heinichen: Dresden Concerti, GF Handel: Marian Cantatas with Anne Sofie von Otter, Italian Violin Concertos and Le Roi Danse by Musica Antiqua Koln.


    After leaving Musica Antiqua Koln in 2000 he became a freelance baroque violinist and joined the Batzdorfer Court Orchestra in 2001.  He has also worked with countless German ensembles that include Concerto Koln, Ensemble Alte Musik Dresden, the Festival Orchestra Gottingen, the German Handel Soloists, La Stagione Frankfurt and the Leipzig Baroque Orchestra. 


    Musica Antiqua Koln recordings

    Concerto for 2 Flutes and Orchestra in G Major  (Johann Joachim Quantz)
    Archiv 447 664 (CD: Concerti ‘pour l’orchestra di Dresda)



    1. http://www.batzdorfer-hofkapelle.de/cms/index.php?article_id=36
    2. http://www.festivitas.ee/?id=2898
    3. http://calperformances.org/learn/program_notes/2012/pn_koeln.pdf
    4. http://www.discogs.com/artist/1111658-Wolfgang-Von-Kessinger
    5. http://www.allmusic.com/artist/wolfgang-von-kessinger-mn0001504257
    6. http://www.arkivmusic.com/classical/album.jsp?album_id=61195










    © Feenotes 2006-2013