Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Lipton, Jonathan

    French horn player from New York who attended SUNY-Purchase and studied with James Chambers and Howard T. Howard. 


    In 1976, he moved to England where he took odd jobs ranging from construction worker to ice cream vendor.  He put his degree to work in 1981, when he became a member of the Ulster Orchestra.  In 1985, he joined the BBC Welsh Symphony Orchestra.  Other groups with whom he has worked include the London Horn Sound Big Band, the London Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Opera House Brass, Sinfonia Cymru and the St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra.


    He and fellow horn players David McCleneghan, David Pyatt and Angus West performed Robert Schumann’s “Konzertstuck for Four Horns” with Sinfonia Cymru at St. David’s Hall in Cardiff on 22nd April 2003.


    On 27th February 2005, he and Timothy Jones, David Pyatt and John Ryan performed Michael Tippett’s “Sonata for Four Horns”.  The LSO concert concluded “Symphony No. 4 in B flat, Op. 60” by Ludwig van Beethoven.


    Soprano Angela Gheorghiu was the guest artist of the LSO at the Barbican on 8th May 2007 for an evening of operatic highlights that included “Lascia ch’io pianga” from Rinaldo by George Frideric Handel, “Stridino lassu” from Pagliacci by Ruggero Leoncavallo and “Un bel di vedremo” from Madama Butterfly by Giacomo Puccini.


    On 21st October 2009, the LSO offered up “Symphony No. 4 in G major” by Gustav Mahler and “Symphony No. 5 in B flat major, D. 485” at Lincoln Center.


    Rachel Gough and Andrew Marriner were on hand at Barbican Hall on 26th September 2010 when the LSO sandwiched “Duett-Concertino for Clarinet and Bassoon” by Richard Strauss in between “Concerto for Orchestra No. 1” (“Naughty Limericks”) by Rodion Shchedrin and “Symphony No. 5” by Gustav Mahler.


    On 13th March 2011, the LSO gave the world premiere of “Halo” by Vlad Maistorovici and followed it up with “Piano Concerto No. 3”, with Jonathan Biss at the keys, and “Symphony No. 7”, by Beethoven.


    The LSO opened with “Tragic Overture” by Johannes Brahms, followed by “Symphony No. 2” Karol Szymanowski and “Symphony No. 2” by Brahms at Barbican Hall on 13th October 2012.


    Recordings on which Jonathan appears include:  Bruckner:  Symphony No. 4, Debussy:  La mer/Jeux/Prelude a l’apres-mini d’un faune, Holst:  The Planets, John Adams:  A Flowering Tree, Mahler:  Symphony No. 5, Music of Hope, Rachmaninov:  Symphony No. 2, Ravel:  Daphnis et Chloe/Bolero/Pavane pour une infante defunte, Smetana:  Ma vlast, Strauss:  Eine Alpensinfonie and Tchaikovsky:  Symphonies Nos 1-3 with the LSO; Give it One with the London Horn Sound Big Band; Guildhall Horn Soloists by the Guildhall School Horn Ensemble; On the Town with the Royal Opera House Brass Soloists; and, Turn the Corner by Janelle Lauer.


    He can also be heard on the soundtracks of Star Wars:  Episode I—The Phantom Menace, Star Wars:  Episode II—Attack of the Clones and Star Wars:  Episode III—Revenge of the Sith.


    In the field of music education, he has served on the faculty of the Guildhall School of Music & Drama, coached at the British Horn Festival, and given master classes for Incontri Mediterranei Associazione and the Manhattan School of Music.



    1. http://www.gsmd.ac.uk/music/staff/teaching_staff/department/2-department-of-wind-brass-and-percussion/110-jonathan-lipton
    2. http://www.barbican.org.uk/media/events/11853stpetersburgprogforweb.pdf
    3. http://british-horn.org/pastevents.html
    4. http://www.thefreelibrary.com/Pick+of+the+day%3A+Sinfonia+Cymru%3B+St+David%27s+Hall,+Cardiff.-a0100451434
    5. http://www.classicalsource.com/db_control/db_print_concert.php?id=2412
    6. http://www.barbican.org.uk/media/events/4267gheorghuifor8-5-07.webpress.pdf
    7. http://www.lincolncenter.org/programnotes/GP-LSO-102109.pdf
    8. http://www.cittadiorte.it/INCONTRIMEDITERRANEI/eventi/masterclass_corno_2010/index_english.html
    9. http://assets1.lso.co.uk/images/26_Sep_prog_web.pdf
    10. http://lso.co.uk/images/13_Mar_final_prog_cropped_for_web.pdf
    11. http://ny4free.com/?p=3879
    12. http://lso.co.uk/sunday-23-september-saturday-13-october-2012
    13. http://www.discogs.com/artist/Jonathan+Lipton?noanv=1
    14. http://www.allmusic.com/artist/jonathan-lipton-mn0002005473
    15. http://www.trombone.org/articles/library/viewarticles.asp?ArtID=283
    16. http://www.amismusicalcircle.com/cds/cd-053.htm
    17. http://lso.co.uk/3314/Strauss-Eine-Alpensinfonie/145/-/LSO0689_Digital_Booklet.pdf
    18. http://lso.co.uk/3312/Ravel-Daphnis-et-Chloe-Pavane-pour-une-infante-defunte-Bolero/183/-/LSO0693_Digital_Booklet.pdf
    19. http://lso.co.uk/3308/Mahler-Symphony-No-5-Digital-Booklet/188/-/LSO0664_Digital_Booklet_web.pdf
    20. http://lso.co.uk/3313/Smetana-Ma-vlast/144/-/LSO0061.pdf
    21. http://lso.co.uk/3312/LSO0692-Debussy-La-mer-Digital-Booklet/191/-/LSO0692_digital_booklet_web.pdf
    22. http://lso.co.uk/3305/Rachmaninov-Symphony-No-2/133/-/LSO0177_Digital_Booklet.pdf
    23. http://www.classical-mp3.co.uk/download_booklet.aspx?file=LS%200716.pdf
    24. http://www.naxosmusiclibrary.com/sharedfiles/booklets/LSO/booklet-LSO0710.pdf
    25. http://www.filmtracks.com/comments/titles/attack_clones/index.cgi?read=1044&expand=1
    26. www.imdb.com/title/tt0121765/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1
    27. http://www.filmtracks.com/comments/titles/phantom_menace/index.cgi?read=147
    28. http://www.filmtracks.com/comments/titles/revenge_sith/index.cgi?read=592&expand=1











    © Feenotes 2006-2013