Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Machtinger, Thomas (10th April 1973-Present)

    He is an oboist born in Eisenstadt, Austria, who took his first formal studies in the instrument by the time he was 11 years old at the Joseph Haydn Conservatory at Eisenstadt.  He went on to enter the Vienna University of Music and Performing Arts.


    In 1995 he became a member of the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra and in 1998 he joined the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra.


    He also substituted at the northeastern Tonkunstlerorchester, the Vienna Philharmonic, Vienna State Opera and Volksoper.


    In 2006 he started to perform as an oboist with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and also in recent years he has played with ensembles such as the Collegium Viennese, the Haydn Philharmonic, the Johann Strauss Orchestra, qWIENtett wind ensemble and the Vienna Chamber Orchestra.


    He has appeared on several recordings and is known for his performances on the Viennese oboe which is used almost exclusively in orchestras based in Vienna.



    1. http://www.qwientett.com/mitglieder/?mit=1
    2. iwk.mdw.ac.at/lit_db_iwk/download.php?id=14047
    3. http://kammerorchester.waidhofen.at/solisten/machtinger_thomas.html
    4. http://www.wjo.at/index.php/ueber-das-wjo/dozenten-innen/23-holzblaeser.html#thomas-machtinger,-oboe
    5. http://www.wienersymphoniker.at/musiker-und-management






    © Feenotes 2006-2013