Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Matsui, Kana (1985 – Present)

    Violinist from Tokyo, Japan, who attended the Conservatoire HEM de Lausanne, Konservatorium Wien Privatuniversitat and TOMO High School of Music.  Her teachers included Pierre Amoyal, Werner Hink, Shizuko Ishii, Anton Sorokow and Azusa Tachita.


    Groups with whom she has worked include Camerata de Lausanne, Camerata Salzburg, Chamber Orchester Concertino-Wien, Ensemble Libra Wien, EOS-Quartett Wien, L’Ensemble Contrechamps de Geneve, National Symphonieorchester Colombia, L’Orchestre de Chambre de Geneve, Symphonieorchester Vorarlberg, Symphony Orchester RTV Slovenija, the Vienna Classical Players Quintet, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and Wiener Konzertverein. 


    On 8th August 2010, she and violist Johannes Flieder, pianist Luca Monti and cellist Christoph Stradner appeared in Lake Studio at the Bregenz Festival.  Their program comprised Mieczyslaw Weinberg’s “Sonata No. 2, Op. 63” and “Trio, Op. 48”


    She and cellist Philipp Comploi, violinist Kathrin Lenzenweger, violist Daniel Moser and trombonist Wolfgang Tischhart performed Daniel Mayer’s “Hybride Strukturen” on 22nd October 2010.


    On 3rd December 2011, the Vienna Classical Players Quintet entertained in the Ballroom at Osterreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften.  Their recital included Franz Joseph Haydn’s “Divertimento in G major, Op. 100”, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s “Quartet in C major, K. 631” and “Quintet in C major, K. 521” and Jeno Takacs’s “Dialogues on birdsongs”.


    Recordings on which Kana appears include:  C.P.E. Bach/C.F. Abel:  Sonatas for Viola da Gamba & Fortepiano with EOS-Quartett Wien und Symphonieorchester Vorarlberg; Mieczyslaw Weinberg:  Three Palms/String Trio/Trumpet Concerto No. 1 with the Vorarlberg Symphony Orchestra; and, Spohr:  Double String Quartet No. 1, Op. 54/Mendelssohn:  String Octet, Op. 20 with Camerata de Lausanne.


    In the field of music education, she has served as Lecturer of Masterclasses and Workshops for the educational outreach program, Children in Colombia.



    1. http://kanamatsui.blogspot.com/2012/02/kana-matsui-violinist-kana-matsui.html
    2. http://www.discogs.com/artist/Wiener+Konzertverein
    3. https://www.onepoint.fm/#!/ensemblelibra/photos
    4. http://www.bregenzerfestspiele.com/en/musicpoetry10
    5. http://www.instantencore.com/concert/details.aspx?PId=5059824
    6. http://www.daniel-mayer.at/werkliste_en.htm
    7. http://www.artvienna.eu/Concert_ART_Vienna_2011.pdf
    8. http://www.qualiton.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=QILTD&Category_Code=01NR&offset=270&ProductsPerPage=15&sort=code.desc&Initial=
    9. http://www.allmusic.com/artist/kana-matsui-mn0002848082
    10. http://www.hqm-store.com/store/item.php?album_no=HQMG-20073
    11. http://rutracker.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2671656










    © Feenotes 2006-2013