Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    McEwen, Mark

    Oboist from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, who attended the Curtis Institute of Music, from when he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts.  He complemented his education at the Aspen Music Festival and the Tanglewood Music Center.  His teachers included Geordie Howe, John de Lancie, and James Mason.


    In 1996, he became a member of the Boston Symphony Orchestra.  Other groups with whom he has worked comprise the Atlanta Symphony, the Boston Pops, the Florida Orchestra, the Milwaukee Symphony, Orchester Staatsbad Meinberg, and the Santa Fe Opera.


    Recordings on which he appears include Back to the Well by Kenny Rogers, and America, Holiday Pops and A Splash of Pops by the Boston Pops.


    On 13th February 2004, the BSO gave a Valentine’s concert that featured the orchestra’s married couples performing duets.  Mark and his wife, flautist Linda Toote, performed “Concerto for Flute and Oboe” by Antonio Salieri.


    He participated in the BSO’s prelude concert at Ozawa Hall in Lenox on 8th August 2008.  The program comprised “Six American Painters” by John Harbison, “String Quartet in C” by Franz Joseph Haydn, and “String Quartet in G minor” by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.


    On 22nd January 2012, members of the BSO gathered at Jordan Hall where they performed “Serenade in D for Flute, Violin and Viola, Op. 25” by Ludwig van Beethoven, “Serenade No. 1” by Johannes Brahms, and “Serenade No. 12 in C minor for Winds, K. 388” by Mozart.


    In the field of music education, he has taught at the Boston University College of Fine Arts and the New England Conservatory of Music.



    1. http://necmusic.edu/faculty/mark-mcewen?lid=1&sid=3
    2. http://www.bu.edu/cfa/music/faculty/mcewen/
    3. http://www.discogs.com/Boston-Pops-Orchestra-The-Keith-Lockhart-Holiday-Pops/release/2986856
    4. http://www.cduniverse.com/search/xx/music/pid/1132063/a/Splash+Of+Pops.htm
    5. http://www.artistdirect.com/artist/credits/mark-mcewen/2935138
    6. http://www.bostonclassicalorchestra.org/program-notes/2003-2004-celebrating-harry/
    7. http://www.cduniverse.com/search/xx/music/pid/6869829/a/America.htm
    8. http://www.berkshirelinks.com/tanglewood-schedule-week-six-aug-8-aug-14/
    9. http://www.bso.org/brands/bso/features/january-22-chamber-players.aspx











    © Feenotes 2006-2013