Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Muller, Herbert (1957 – Present)

    Violist from Vienna, Austria, who attended the Conservatory of Vienna and the Vienna University of Music and studied with Siegfried Fuhrlinger.


    Groups with whom he has worked include Ensemble Baumgarten, Ensemble Bella Musica, the Glinka-Arenkow-Quartet, the Gulbenkian-Orchestra, Orquesta de Valencia, Vienna Concertino, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and the Vienna-Tokyo Quintett.


    On 25th October 2006, he and violinist Christoph Ehrenfellner, contrabassist Simon Pennentsdorfer and cellist Adalbert Skocic performed Franz Schubert’s “Forellenquintett” at Oberes Schloss Belvedere in Vienna.


    He and pianist Leonore Aumaier gave a recital in Brahms Saal at Musikverein on 3rd February 2008.  Their program comprised Paul Hindemith’s “Viola Sonata No. 4 in F major, Op. 11”, Robert Schumann’s “Adagio and Allegro in A flat major, Op. 70” and “Marchenbilder for Viola and Piano, Op. 113”, and Dmitri Shostakovich’s “Viola Sonata in C major, Op. 147”.


    On 1st April 2009, he and violinist Ellen Conka, violist Johannes Flieder, flautist Raphael Leone and cellist Romed Wieser appeared at Casino Herisau where they interpreted Franz Joseph Haydn’s “Divertimento No. 1 in D major, Op. 100”, Franz Krommer’s “Quintet in G major, Op. 109” and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s “Quintet in C major, K. 521”.


    Composer Elzbieta Wiedner-Zajac dedicated her “Ballade for Viola and Piano” to him in August 2009.


    On 8th November 2011, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and Eroica Trio performed Ludwig van Beethoven’s “Concerto for Violin, Cello and Piano in C major, Op. 56” (“Triple Concerto”) in Foellinger Great Hall at the Krannert Center for the Performing Arts.  The concert concluded with Johannes Brahms’ “Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73”.


    Recordings on which Herbert appears include:  Danses; Haydn:  Zingarese/Landler:  Nocturnes and Wien, 1850:  Strauss/Diabelli/Lanner with Ensemble Bella Musica; Mozart & Beethoven:  Streichtrios with Christoph Ehrenfellner and Adalbert Skocic; Mozart/Brahms:  Clarinet Quintets with the Vienna-Tokyo Quintett; and, Portrait from Vienna with Ensemble Baumgarten


    In the field of music education, he has served on the faculties of Konservatorium Wien and the Vienna University of Music.



    1. http://www.musikseminar.at/eng/tutors/41.php
    2. http://www.coneixercanals.com/canals/orquesta-de-valencia-florian-zwiauer-violin-herbert-muller-viola-yaron-traub-directorobras-de-stravinski-mozart-y-mendelssohn/
    3. http://www.agneswolf.com/term.htm
    4. http://eventful.com/vienna/events/herbert-mller-viola-leonore-aumaier-piano-/E0-001-008204522-0
    5. http://www.casinogesellschaft.ch/musik_archiv.php
    6. http://www.wiedner-zajac.com/?lang=eng&id=25&PHPSESSID=q03lc90hs9oclna2j5uv4sag96
    7. http://www.krannertcenter.com/images/cm/2011511153925496128174106178/ViennaSymphonyProgram.pdf
    8. http://porvalencia.com/noticias/the-kings-consort-interpreta-la-pasion-segun-san-mateo/
    9. http://www.allmusic.com/artist/herbert-m%C3%BCller-mn0001648824/credits
    10. http://www.christophehrenfellner.at/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=49&Itemid=29&lang=de
    11. http://www.katsuratanikawa.com/listen.php
    12. http://www.cduniverse.com/productinfo.asp?pid=8552286&style=music
    13. http://www.discogs.com/Ensemble-Bella-Musica-Wien-Michael-Dittrich-Wien-1850-J-Strauss-Diabelli-Lanner/release/4386463
    14. http://www.konservatorium-wien.ac.at/en/studies/string-instruments/












    © Feenotes 2006-2013