Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Ploeger, Theo (1956 – Present)

    Violinist from Amsterdam who took his formal training under Mark Louis Lubotski at Metz’s Sweelinck Conservatory and completed his studies in 1980.  In 2000, he appeared on the Andre Hazes CD, Want Ik Hou Van Jou.  He has been a member of the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra and the Netherlands Radio Symphony Orchestra. 


    On 21st December 2002, the Radio Symphony Orchestra performed a Christmas concert in tandem with Groot Omroepkoor.  The program consisted of Roel van Oosten’sQuatre Noels Anciens”, Arvo Part’s “Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten”, Alexandre Tansman’s oratorio, Isaie, le Prophete, and Ralph Vaughan Williams’ “Fantasia on Christmas Carols”.  In 2003, Theo appeared on Hazes’ Live in de Amsterdam Arena and 25 Jaar Hazes Het Allerbeste Van, Best of de Poema’s, and de Poema’s Ik Mis Nets. 


    With the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra, he has had the opportunity to perform some pretty eclectic and challenging material.  On 26th October 2007, they put on a concert that comprised Sergei Prokofiev’s Egyptian Nights suite, Camille Saint-Saens’ “Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 5 in F, Op. 103”, and Igor Stravinsky’s Petroesjka. 


    They celebrated the holiday season on 13th December 2008 with Groot Omroepkoor and Nationaal Kinderchor in a performance of Mauricio Kagel’s Sankt-Bach-Passion.  On 15th January 2010, they performed Johannes Brahms’ “Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 58”, Thomas AdesTevot, and Vaughan Williams’ Variations on a Theme of Thomas Tallis”. 


    Quite a doubleheader on 9th March 2010:  They performed Sergei Rachmaninoff’s “Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in F sharp minor” and Dmitri Shostakovich’s “Symphony No. 7 in C major, Op. 60” (“Leningrad”).  Contrast that with the concert they performed just eighteen days later:  ces concerts, riches de cuivre…” by Bart Visman, “Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (“L’arbre des songes”) by Henri Dutilleux, La mer by Claude Debussy, and “Musique pour l’esprit en deuil” by Rudolf Escher. 


    On 17th September 2010, they offered up Anatoli Liadov’s “Baba-Jaga” and “Het betoverde meer”, and Prokofiev’s “Piano Concerto No. 3 in C, Op. 26”.



    1. http://www.discogs.com/artist/Theo+Ploeger
    2. www.eo.nl/attachments/3289901/bestandsnaam.pdf;jsessionid...mmbase02
    3. http://www.discogs.com/De-Poemas-Best-Of/release/467209
    4. http://www.discogs.com/De-Poemas-Ik-Mis-Niets/release/1135770
    5. http://www.discogs.com/viewimages?release=1369734
    6. http://www.discogs.com/Hazes-Live-In-De-Amsterdam-Arena-25-Jaar-Hazes/release/1369734
    7. http://www.discogs.com/viewimages?release=588057
    8. http://www.avro.nl/docs/klassiek/2007-10-26_VrijdagVanVredenburg.pdf
    9. http://www.bachleeft.nl/data/media/db_download/2509_86eff0.pdf
    10. http://radio.tros.nl/files/programma150110.pdf
    11. www.lifepr.de/.../Programmheft_Netherlands+Radio+PO,+van+Zweden_09.03.10.pdf
    12. http://www.radio4.nl/data/media/db_download/212_0bfcf3.pdf
    13. http://www.radio4.nl/data/media/db_download/234_9cd95c.pdf
    14. http://old.radio4.nl/data/media/db_download/241_b2b090.pdf
    15. http://www.discogs.com/Andr%C3%A9-Hazes-Het-Allerbeste-Van-25-Jaar-Hazes/master/245105
    16. http://www.radiofilharmonischorkest.nl/mco_page/evenvoorstellen/18235/Theo%20Ploeger
    17. http://www.nl-rso.org/musicianse.html











    © Feenotes 2006-2013