Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Prochaska, Wolfgang (1968 – Present)

    Violist from Vienna, Austria, who studied at the universities of music in Graz and Vienna and the Vienna Conservatory.  His teachers included Herbert Kefer, Hans Peter Ochsenhofer, Thomas Riebl, Michael Schnitzler, Gerhard Schulz and Herwig Zelle.


    Groups with whom he has worked include the Arioso Quartett, the Brunn State Opera, the Max Reger Streichensemble (a.k.a. Max Reger Streichtrio), the Modling Symphony Orchestra, the Styraburg Ensemble, the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Vienna State Opera and the Vienna Symphony Orchestra.


    On 7th August 2005, the Max Reger Streichtrio appeared at the Bertha von Suttner-Musiksalon in Schloss Kirchstetten.  Their program comprised Ludwig van Beethoven’s “String Trio No. 3 in C minor, Op. 9”, Max Reger’s “String Trio in A minor, Op. 77b” and Franz Schubert’s “String Trio in B flat major, D. 581”.


    Wolfgang and pianist Manfred Reschauer accompanied mezzo-soprano Alice Rath in a performance of Gustav Mahler’s “Kindertotenlieder” and Modest Mussorgsky’s “Lieder und Tanze des Todes” at Schloss Albeck Café on 22nd October 2006.


    On 22nd March 2009, the Arioso Quartett gave a recital at Borg St. Polten that included Franz Joseph Haydn’s “String Quartet No. 2 in E flat major, Op. 33” (“The Joke”), Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s “String Quartet No. 2 in E flat major” and Joseph Marx’s “Quartetto in modo antico”.


    The Styraburg Ensemble participated in Styraburg Fest Steyr on 13th November 2010, when they interpreted Louise Farrenc’s “Quintet in E major”, Johann Nepomuk Hummel’s “Quintet in E minor” and Robert Schumann’s “Piano Quartet in E flat major, Op. 47”.


    On 13th May 2011, they took part in the festival again, this time performing Frederic Chopin’s “Piano Concerto in E minor” and Felix Mendelssohn’s “Piano Sextet in D major, Op. 110”.


    They gave the world premiere of Baldwin Sulzer’s “7 Songs after poems by Dora Dunkl” with mezzo-soprano Alice Rath on 12th May 2012.


    On 23rd March 2013, Wolfgang and violinist Martin Klimek teamed up with the Modling Symphony Orchestra at Neuer Burgsaal in Perchtoldsdorf for Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s “Sinfonia concertante, K. 364”.



    1. http://eco1004716-18164.innterhost.net/schubertquintettmusiker.htm
    2. http://www.kvkevent.com/?kvk=st20101022183708&&lp=en
    3. http://www.wienersymphoniker.at/Portals/0/Orchester/WS_EnsemblesPortfolio_FINAL.pdf
    4. http://www.chen.co.at/index.php?id=4
    5. http://vm.i-news.at/newsletter/plattform_newsarchiv.php?plattform=kulturvernetzung&nlid=1549
    6. http://www.kulturchannel.at/?pagetype=detail&arid=6052&siid=21
    7. http://www.mozartgemeinde-noe.at/veranstaltungen.htm
    8. http://www.nachrichten.at/nachrichten/kultur/Romantische-Lieder-ohne-Worte;art16,505384
    9. http://www.eventszene.at/tickets/styraburg-festival-2011?en_id=1154061
    10. http://www.ensemble.styraburg.com/index.php?id=424
    11. http://www.symphony.at/english/events/20130323.php















    © Feenotes 2006-2013