Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

     Prugh, Barbara Sauer

    She is a trumpeter and conductor born in Delaware who studied at the University of Delaware and the Eastman School of Music.


    In 1983 she took part in New York’s 1983 Concert Artists Guild Competition where she was a finalist and in 1984 she performed in Bloomington, Indiana at the 2nd International Brass Conference where she was a featured soloist.


    Performing as a soloist at the Bucks County Choral Society she has featured in their production of Handel’s Messiah and the 1998 concert Trumpets and Singers.


    She commissioned the composer David Finko to write Concerto for Trumpet and she performed the world premiere of it in October of 2004.  She has also performed the premiere of other works for trumpet by composers that include Jan Kryzwiki and Thea Musgrave


    Performing as a busy soloist and musician during her career she has been Principal Trumpet with the Basically Bach Festival Orchestra, 1807 and Friends and the Lehigh Valley Chamber Orchestra and also played with many other orchestras and ensembles that include the Academy Chamber Players, the Chamber Symphony of Princeton, Concerto Soloists Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia, the Delaware Symphony, Festive Brass, the Merion Concert Band and the Reading Symphony. 


    Concerto Soloists Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia recordings

    Adeste Fidelis (Frederick Oakely/John Francis Wade)

    RCA 6559-2-RC (Gloria!  Gloria!)

    Soprano – Benita Valente

    The Philadelphia Singers

    Conductor – Michael Korn



    1. http://www.trumpetsinger.com/TrumpetSinger/Home.html
    2. http://www.buckschoral.org/programs/trumpets.pdf
    3. http://www.musicianspage.com/musicians/8532/
    4. http://www.trumpetguild.org/2006conference/sat/508.html
    5. http://www.trumpetguild.org/news/news05/287finkoconcerto.htm
    6. http://merionconcertband.org/2.html
    7. http://festivebrass.com/
    8. CD Liner Notes: Gloria! Gloria!








    © Feenotes 2006-2013