Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

     Purser, David

    He is a trumpeter, tuba player, trombonist and teacher who studied at the Royal College of Music in London.  After graduation he became a freelance musician and soon became sought after by the opera houses and symphony orchestras based in London as well as becoming a member of the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble and the London Sinfonietta in the mid-1970s.  He was a co-founder of the London Brass after Philip Jones retired in 1986 and 6 years later found himself as the manager in charge of awarding commissions, recording and masterclasses.  During this time he would also appear with Sinfonia 21 and the Nash Ensemble and somehow during the 1980s he found the time to start out on a successful teaching career as a Professor at the Royal College of Music.  Appearing on numerous recordings he can be heard on Now You See Me, Now You Don't by Sir Cliff Richard, Phantasmagoria by Curved Air, G.B.H. by Elvis Costello and Richard Harvey, German Years 1977-1999 by Moondog, Renaissance Brass, Greatest Hits, The Twentieth Century Album and Eine Kleine Brass Musik with the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble, Tug of War by Sir Paul McCartney, Kiss and Other Movements and Time Will Pronounce with Michael Nyman, Britten: The Prince of the Pagodas, Janacek: Chamber and Orchestral Works, Poulenc: The Complete Chamber Music, Pergolesi: Miserere, and Adams: Johns Book of Alleged Dances/Gnarly Buttons.  In 2001 he became Head of Brass and Head of Orchestral Studies at the Birmingham Conservatoire, sharing over twenty years worth of experience to many successful music students, and still manages to perform with the London Sinfonietta and publish brass ensemble arrangements.


    Philip Jones Brass Ensemble recordings

    The Agincourt Song (Anonymous)

    Decca B0000807 (2003, CD: Music from the Royal Court)









    © Feenotes 2006-2013