Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Quinn, Sarah

    Violinist who attended the Royal College of Music and auditioned for the London Symphony Orchestra in 1996.  Other groups with who she has worked include the European Union Youth Orchestra and the Vuillaume String Quartet.


    In July 2007, she participated in the Daytona Beach International Festival with the LSO.


    The LSO and Schola Cantorum de Venezuela performed in the U.K. premiere of A Flowering Tree by John Adams on 10th August 2007.


    In 2009, Sarah was one of the members of the LSO who took part in the City of London Festival.


    The LSO offered up an all-Sibelius concert on 19th October 2011 that comprised the Finnish master’s “Symphony No. 5 in D major” and “Violin Concerto in D minor”, with soloist Nikolaj Znaider.


    On 21st October 2011, they were joined by the London Symphony Chorus for a performance of Ludwig van Beethoven’s Mass in D major (Missa solemnis) at Lincoln Center in New York.


    They performed “Concerto for Orchestra” by Bela Bartok, “Concerto for Violin and Orchestra” by Erich Korngold, with soloist Leonidas Kavakos, and “The Isle of the Dead” by Sergei Rachmaninoff, on 15th February 2012.


    On 19th February 2012, Yuri Bashmet and Anne-Sophie Mutter were the featured soloists when the LSO delivered the European premiere of Andre Previn’s “Concerto for Violin, Viola and Orchestra”.  It was sandwiched between Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring and John Harbison’s “Symphony No. 3”.


    Recordings on which Sarah appears include:  Classikhan, The Dust Bowl Symphony, Holst:  The Planets, John Adams:  A Flowering Tree, Music of Hope and Symphony No. 1 Inspired by the Lord of the Rings by Johan de Meij with the LSO, and Fresh Aire 8 by Mannheim Steamroller.



    1. http://lsodiscoveryat20.wordpress.com/2010/05/19/string-experience-sarah-quinn/
    2. http://lsoontour.wordpress.com/category/sarah-quinn/
    3. http://www.barbican.org.uk/media/events/4250nchfor10-08-07.web.pdf
    4. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nv0a7TPsWLM
    5. http://new.lincolncenter.org/live/pdfs/2011_gp/gp-2011-10-19-LSO.pdf
    6. http://new.lincolncenter.org/live/pdfs/2011_gp/GP-2011-10-21-LSO.pdf
    7. http://lso.co.uk/page/3647/Wednesday-15-February-2012
    8. http://lso.co.uk/page/3649/Sunday-19-and-Monday-20-February-2012
    9. http://www.euyo.org.uk/ireland
    10. http://eventful.com/daytonabeach/events/florida-international-festival-vuillaume-strin-/E0-001-003890558-5
    11. http://www.discogs.com/artist/Sarah+Quinn
    12. http://www.artistdirect.com/artist/sarah-quinn/923335
    13. http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-dust-bowl-symphony-nanci-griffith/3144858













    © Feenotes 2006-2013