Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Reagan, Samantha

    Violinist who is a member of the Philharmonia and appears on their albums, The Big Country and Les Miserables:  The Complete Symphonic Recording.


    Other recordings she has made with them include:  Johann Sebastian Bach’s chorale preludes Komm, Gott, Schopfer, heiliger Geist, BWV 631, and Schmucke dich, o liebe Seele, BWV 654, and “Prelude and fugue in E flat major, BWV 552” (“St. Anne”); Johannes Brahms’ “Piano Quartet in G minor, Op. 25”; and, Arnold Schoenberg’s “Concerto after Monn’s Concerto in D major for Harpsichord”, “Concerto, Op. 36”, “Concerto, Op. 42”, “4 Lieder, Op. 22”, “Die Gluckliche Hand, Op. 18”, “Kammersymphonie No. 2, Op. 38”, Pelleas und Melisande, Op. 5, and “Variations, Op. 31”.


    On 30th November 2009, the Philharmonia performed Zoltan Kodaly’s “Danses de Galanta”, Modest Mussorgsky’s Tableaux d’une exposition and Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s “Concerto pour piano et orchestre No. 1 en si bemol mineur, Op 23”, with Simon Trpceski at the keys.


    They were joined by violinist Joshua Bell on 25th March 2010 for a Beethoven double-header that included the master’s “Konzert fur Violine und Orchester D-Dur, op. 61” and “Symphonie No. 3 Es-Dur, Op. 55” (“Eroica”) at the Grand Auditorium.


    Samantha is also a member of The Composer Resource Ensemble, a group that performs new works and works-in-progress by composers via the internet, so that the composers and musicians can interact and give feedback during a live feed.



    1. http://www.philharmonia.co.uk/orchestra/players/second_violins/samantha_reagan/
    2. http://www.answers.com/topic/les-miserables-relativity-complete-symphonic-recording
    3. http://www.mti.dmu.ac.uk/~ahugill/composerresource/
    4. http://www.jazzstore.com/store/product/original-soundtrack-big-country-original-soundtrack#details
    5. http://www.emusic.com/album/Philharmonia-Orchestra-The-Big-Country-MP3-Download/11258138.html
    6. http://www.philharmonie.lu/downloads/abendprogramm/1230/2009-11-30_091130_Abendprogramm_DOWNLOAD.pdf?PHPSESSID=n9mbrktdscs5pr4hgt3tff3u84
    7. http://www.philharmonie.lu/downloads/abendprogramm/1239/2010-03-25_100325_WEB.pdf?PHPSESSID=a01gdm52a4f2l4q79ni69qfaj1
    8. http://www.usc.edu/libraries/archives/schoenberg/as_disco/names/groups/philharm.htm
    9. http://www.usc.edu/libraries/archives/schoenberg/as_disco/names/groups/londonph.htm










    © Feenotes 2006-2013