Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Rhodes, Ian

    Violinist with the London Symphony Orchestra who appears on their recordings, Bach to Brubeck, Classikhan, Dust Bowl Symphony, Epiphany, and Symphony No. 1 by Johan de Meij Inspired by the Lord of the Rings.


    Other recordings on which he performs include Birthstone Suite by George H. Russell, Corazon Herido by Isabel Pantoja, Fresh Aire 8 by Mannheim Steamroller, In Paradisum, An English Celebration with Sir Charles Groves, and English String Masterpieces with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.


    You may have also heard him on the soundtracks of Atlantis and Raiders of the Lost Ark.


    On 31st January 1989, he took the stage with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in Eisenhower Auditorium at Penn State where they performed Don Juan by Richard Strauss, “Symphony No. 4 in G major” (“Humoreske”) by Gustav Mahler, and “Symphony No. 9, Op. 70” by Dmitri Shostakovich.


    The LSO offered up an all-Sibelius program at Lincoln Center on 19th October 2011 that featured the Finnish master’s “Symphony No. 2 in D major” and “Violin Concerto in D minor”, with soloist Nikolaj Znaider.


    On 21st October 2011, they joined forces with the London Symphony Chorus in a performance of Ludwig van Beethoven’s Mass in D major (Missa Solemnis).


    What’s good for Sibelius is good for Stravinsky:  They performed The Firebird, Mass and “Violin Concerto in D major” of Igor Stravinsky at Barbican Hall on 11th May 2012.  Leonidas Kavakos was the violin soloist and Valery Gergiev conducted.



    1. http://lso.co.uk/page/3128/Players
    2. http://budget.premieremusic.net/catalog/cd/RRC1138/
    3. http://www.artistdirect.com/artist/ian-rhodes/9950454
    4. http://www.collegian.psu.edu:8080/archive/1989/02/02-03-89tdc/02-03-89darts-03.asp
    5. http://new.lincolncenter.org/live/pdfs/2011_gp/gp-2011-10-19-LSO.pdf
    6. http://new.lincolncenter.org/live/pdfs/2011_gp/GP-2011-10-21-LSO.pdf
    7. http://lso.co.uk/page/3690/Friday-11-May-2012
















    © Feenotes 2006-2013