Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

     Romanul, Alexander

    He is a violinist born in Boston, Massachusetts, to a musical family of Romanian descent. He studied the violin from an early age and attended the New England Conservatory.  As a member of the Conservatory orchestra his debut performance was given when he was 12 and he played Mendelssohn's "Violin Concerto".  This led him to being asked for solo performances with the Boston Pops, the Boston Symphony Orchestra after having won the Youth Concerts Concerto Competition, and the National Symphony of Ecuador.  In later years he has competed in the Wieniawski International Violin Competition, appeared as a chamber musician and solo violinist all over the Unite States and Europe, and been the concertmaster of the Ars Poetica Chamber Orchestra in Detroit, Michigan.  Appearing on several recordings, he can be heard on A Splash of Pops and Holiday Pops with the Boston Pops Orchestra, Transfigures Notes with Gunther Schuller, Conversations by Matt Johnson, and Rejoice! with Arturo Delmoni.


    Boston Pops recordings

    With Voices Raised (Lynn Ahrens/Stephen Flaherty)

    RCA 63516 (CD: A Splash of Pops)

    Conductor - Keith Lockhart

    Tenor - Jason Danieley


    Arturo Delmoni recordings

    Angels We Have Heard on High (Traditional French/James Chadwick/Edward Barnes)

    John Marks Records JMR 12 (CD: Rejoice!)

    Violin - Arturo Delmoni

    Violin - Alexander Romanul

    Viola - Katherine Murdock

    Cello - Nathaniel Rosen



    1. http://www.summermusicfromgreensboro.org/AlexanderRomanul.html
    2. http://music.msn.com/album/?album=29457931
    3. http://www.jmrcds.com/Rejoice.html
    4. http://www.amazon.com/Transfigures-Notes-Guy-Tyler/dp/B00000BIJ4
    5. http://www.mattjohnsonmusic.com/Pages/3conv.html
    6. http://www.bostonvirtuosi.org/bostonvirtuosi/bvbioalexanderromanul.html
    7. http://www.mmguide.musicmatch.com/album/album.cgi?ALBUMID=947603











    © Feenotes 2006-2013