Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Roylance, Mike W.

    Electric bassist and tuba player from Washington, D.C., who attended DePaul University, Rollins College, and the University of Miami.  His teachers included Floyd Cooley, James Jenkins, Gene Pokorny, Chester Schmitz, Bob Tucci, and Conni Weldod.


    In 2003, he became a member of the Boston Symphony Orchestra.  Other groups with which he has worked include the Boston Pops, the BSO Brass Quintet, the BU Symphony Orchestra, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Civic Orchestra of Chicago, the Classical Festival Orchestra, the Minnesota Orchestra, Rosie O’Grady’s Dixieland Jazz Band, Rosie O’Grady’s Good Time Jazz Band, the Samford Wind Ensemble, the Sam Rivers RivBea Jazz Orchestra, the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, and the Walt Disney World Orchestra.


    On 17th February 2011, he premiered Gunther Schuller’s “Concerto No. 2 for Tuba and Orchestra” with the BU Symphony Orchestra at the Tsai Performance Center.  It was sandwiched between Johannes Brahms’ “Symphony No. 4, Op. 98” and Franz Joseph Haydn’s prelude to The Creation.


    The BSO Brass Quintet appeared at Congregational Church in Plainfield, Massachusetts, on 25th July 2011.  Their program comprised Johann Sebastian Bach’s “Fantasia”, Oskar Bohme’s “Trompeten-sextett in E flat, Op. 30”, Eugene Bozza’sSonatine for Brass”, and Paul Hindemith’s “Morgenmusik”.


    On 20th April 2012, they performed Ivan Jevtic’sQuintette Victoria” and “Three Slavonic Madrigals”, and Schuller’s “Music for Brass Quintet” at the Shalin Liu Performance Center in Rockport, Massachusetts.  The evening also included works by Malcolm Arnold and Leonard Bernstein.


    Recordings on which Mike appears include Teutonic Tales, the title track of which was dedicated to him by composer Robert W. Smith.


    In the field of music education, he has taught at Boston University, the New England Conservatory, Rollins College, the University of Central Florida, and Yale University.



    1. http://www.bu.edu/cfa/music/faculty/roylance/
    2. http://www.brasssymposium.com/Artists/Mike-Roylance.aspx
    3. http://www.grandorchestras.com/bostonpops/bpops_orchestra.html
    4. http://forums.chisham.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=35887
    5. http://www.robertwsmith.com/RobertWSmith.com/Announcements/Entries/2011/1/28_TEUTONIC_TALES_for_Tuba_and_piano.html
    6. http://www.barnhouse.com/product.php?id=084-3987-39
    7. http://classical-scene.com/2011/02/17/schuller-bu-tuba/
    8. http://www.thestorybehindthemusic.com/page/3/
    9. http://classical-scene.com/2011/07/27/bso-brass-quintet/
    10. http://www.zvents.com/rockport_ma/events/show/245326964-the-boston-symphony-orchestra-brass-quintet-presented-by-rockport-music
    11. http://www.wickedlocal.com/gloucester/news/x1780479105/New-BSO-brass-quintet-debuts-in-Rockport#ixzz1v3GL9oid











    © Feenotes 2006-2013