Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

     Running, Arne (1943?-Present)

    He is a clarinettist, composer and conductor born in Moorhead, Minnesota who began his clarinet education when he was eleven years old.


    Becoming successful with the instrument he was a soloist with the Minnesota Orchestra in a performance of Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto when he was seventeen and although he also began writing music when he was studying at high school but he put that side of things it to one side when he entered the New England Conservatory of Music to study for his Bachelor degree.  He went on to enter Philadelphia’s Temple University for his Masters and then entered into the world of professional music as a freelance clarinettist. 


    In 1976 he decided to return some of his attention to composing and after gaining some attention with this first published piece, Chorale and Capriccio for Band, he began to work on commissions for a range of groups such as the Berks Classical Children’s Chorus, the Minnesota Orchestra and St. Olaf College Band.  Since he began writing music again he has written several works that include orchestral pieces, trios, quartets, quintets and works for solo instruments.


    Over the course of his busy career as a musician he has performed with numerous ensembles and orchestras in Pennsylvania with a few of these including Network for New Music, Ocean City Pops, Orchestra 2001, Penn Contemporary Players, Philadelphia Orchestra and Riverside Symphonia.  He has held the position of Principal Clarinet with the Concerto Soloists Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia, the Pennsylvania Ballet and the Philly Pops.  He has also been a conductor at the Old York Road Symphony.


    He has appeared on several recordings such as At the Still Point and Dream Journal by Network for New Music, Music of Gerald Levinson and River Song by Orchestra 2001, Robert Hall Lewis by the Penn Contemporary Players and Eastman Percussion Ensemble, Gloria! Gloria! By Benita Valente, The Philadelphia Singers & The Concert Soloists Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia and The Wishing Tree: Choral Music of Robert Maggio.


    The Philadelphia Singers recordings

    Adeste Fidelis (Frederick Oakeley/John Francis Wade)

    RCA 6559-2-RC (Gloria!  Gloria!)

    Soprano – Benita Valente

    Concerto Soloists Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia

    Conductor – Michael Korn



    1. http://www.arnerunning.com/
    2. http://www.arnerunning.com/biography.html
    3. http://networkfornewmusic.org/arne-running
    4. http://www.dramonline.org/performers/running-arne
    5. http://www.dramonline.org/albums/network-for-new-music-dream-journal/notes
    6. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000QZRA3E/ref=dm_sp_alb
    7. http://www.danieldorff.com/clarinet.htm
    8. http://blog.davidhthomas.net/2009/11/clarinet-angle-is-critical/
    9. http://www.oldyorkroadsymphony.org/repertoire










    © Feenotes 2006-2013