Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Schellenberger, Hansjorg (1948-Present)  

    He is an oboist born in Munich, Germany.  He grew up in Saal an der Donau, Germany, and began to learn the recorder when he was six years old.  At the age of 13 he began learning the oboe and in 1967 he became a student at the Munich Musikhochschule while at the same time studying informatics at the Munich Technical University.  He co-founded the Musik unserer Zeit series where he gained experience in contemporary music and in 1971 he became solo oboist with the Cologne Radio Symphony Orchestra.  Working with Herbert von Karajan he would play as a substitute for the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and then from 1980 he became their solo oboist.  He founded and became the director of the Haydn Ensemble Berlin and is in duos with the pianist Rolf Koenen, the harpist Margit-Anna Suss and the flautist Wolfgang Schulz.   He has won numerous awards including the Cultural Promotion Prize of Bavaria and first prize in the Competition of German Music Conservatories.  As a teacher he has taught at the Berlin Hochchule der Kunste and has given regular masterclasses in Siena and Fiesole.


    I Solisti Italiani recordings

    Concerto a Cinque No. 6 for Oboe in D Major, Op. 7 (Tomaso Giovanni Albinoni)

    Denon 2301 (CD: 6 Oboe Concerti)

    Oboe - Hansjorg Schellenberger


    Concerto a Cinque No. 8 in G Minor, Op. 9 (Tomaso Giovanni Albinoni)

    Denon CO 2301 (CD: 6 Oboe Concerti)

    Oboe - Hansjorg Schellenberger   



    1. http://www.campanella-musica.com/artists/schellenberger.htm


    Here he is performing in an excerpt of Bach's "Magnificat in D Major".  He is the oboist with the glasses...











    © Feenotes 2006-2013