Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

     Soles, Nannette

    She is a mezzo-soprano and teacher who took her studies for piano pedagogy and voice education at Rome, Georgia’s Shorter College and the University of Georgia and was a finalist in the 1994 Southeast Regional Finals for the auditions for the Metropolitan Opera National Council.  She has worked regularly as a soloist for the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra under the leadership of various acclaimed conductors in performances such as Handel’s Messiah, Mendelssohn’s Elijah and J.S. Bach’s Magnificat.  Working extensively with the conductor Robert Shaw, she has been a member of the Robert Shaw Chamber Singers and the Robert Shaw Festival Singers, often gave solo performances at the “Christmas with Robert Saw” concerts and the Robert Shaw Chorale Institute in France, and appeared under his leadership with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, the National Symphony Orchestra, and the Orchestra of St. Luke’s.  She has performed with many other orchestras in Spain and throughout the United States.  No stranger to the studio she has featured as a soloist on several recordings conducted by Robert Shaw such as the Grammy winning Barber: Prayers of Kierkegaard as well as Appear & Inspire, A Robert Shaw Christmas: Angels on High, and Songs of Angels: Christmas Hymns & Carols and also on Douglas Major: Requiem Mass in C Major with Atlanta’s All Saints Choir.    She was a member of the Atlanta Opera for four seasons and performed roles in their productions such as Menotti’s The Consul and Gilbert & Sullivan’s Pirates of Penzance and was a soloist with the Rome Symphony Orchestra at an Opera Gala.  In recent years she has performed in Ainadamar by Osvaldo Golijov with Dawn Upshaw and the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, Bach’s Mass in B Minor with Georgia’s Athens Master Chorale and has sung as a member of the Alabama Symphony Orchestra.  In the field of musical education she gives lessons in voice from her home in Conyers, Georgia.


    Robert Shaw Chamber Singers recordings

    Adeste Fidelis (John Francis Wade)
    Telarc 80461 (CD: A Rober Shaw Christmas: Angels On High)
    Arranger – Alice Parker


    Angels We Have Heard on High (Traditional French/James Chadwick/Edward Shippen Barnes )

    Telarc 80377 (CD: Songs of Angels: Christmas Hymns & Carols)

    Conductor - Robert Shaw



    1. http://www.alabamasymphony.org/news.asp?record_no=10755
    2. http://www.musicweb.uk.net/classrev/2008/Jan08/Barber_RVW_CD80479.htm
    3. http://www.barbican.org.uk/media/events/53515351ainamadarforwebfinal.pdf
    4. http://www.allsaintsatlanta.org/home/print.asp?menuid=566
    5. http://www.atlantasymphony.org/assets/pdf/07-Messiah.pdf
    6. http://www.cduniverse.com/search/xx/music/artist/Soles,+Nanette/a/Nanette+Soles.htm
    7. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1801496/
    8. http://onlineathens.com/stories/051304/ent_20040513017.shtml







    © Feenotes 2006-2013