Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

     Stewart, M. Dee (1935-Present)

    He is a euphonium player, trombonist, bass trumpeter, writer and teacher who studied at Ball State University and Northwestern University and has appeared as a soloist, chamber musician and orchestral member.  He has performed with the the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Summit Brass, the Minnesota Orchestra, the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic and the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, the Philadelphia Brass Ensemble and was a member of the Philadelphia Orchestra for 18 years.  Having made many recordings he has appeared on his own Dee Plus, Stewart Sounds, Don Quixote and Pictures at an Exhibition, Trombones Under the Tree with Joseph Alessi, Duo Tromboni - Con Amore with Fabio Sampo and the Grammy Award winning The Glorious Sound of Brass and The Antiphonal Music of Antonio Gabrieli with the Philadelphia Brass Ensemble.  As a teacher he was a member of the faculty of the Curtis Institute of Music for 10 years and has given many international masterclasses.  He is currently Chairman of the Brass Department and has been Professor of Trombones and Euphonium Music at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music since 1980.  Receiving many prizes for his contributions to music and teaching, he was the developer of the Lewis Van Haney Philharmonic Prize and the Stewart Stand for the euphonium and the tuba.  In his role as an author he has written many articles for journals and published the books Arnold Jacobs: Legacy of a Master and Philip Farkas: Legacy of a Master.


    Philadelphia Brass Ensemble recordings

    Angels We Have Heard on High (Traditional French/James Chadwick/Edward Barnes)

    CBS MK 7033 (CD: A Festival of Carols in Brass)



    1. http://www.stewartsounds.com/bio.html
    2. http://info.music.indiana.edu/sb/page/normal/861.html
    3. http://www.music.indiana.edu/publicity/fanfare/2005/2005.10.07/profile.shtml
    4. http://www.ita-web.org/festival/itf2002/performers/stewart.asp





    © Feenotes 2006-2013