Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Stock, Chris

    Composer and percussionist from Chelmsford, Essex, who attended the Royal College of Music and went on to join the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and the faculty of the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama.  Some of his students have been Simon Brittlebank, Dave Danford, Alun Horgan, and Luke Wyeth. 


    His compositions include “Crossfire”, “Echoes of the Reedbed”, “Jasmine on the Breeze”, “Jupiter’s Dance”, “Rituelle”, and “Rumble”.  “Jupiter’s Dance” appeared on Simone Rebello’s 1995 album, A Secret Place.  Recordings on which Chris performed include Celebration:  Christmas Fanfares & Carols, The Spirit of Christmas Present, and Trumpet Renaissance. 


    In January 2002, Chris, along with Robert Court, David Langstroth, and members of Forsvarets Distriktsmusikkorps Nord-Norge, Det Norsk Solistkor, and Tromso Symfonieorkester, premiered “Schizophonia” by Sean Cubitt, Esther Dyson, Nigel Morgan, and Walt Whitman.  Nigel dedicated “Flights”, a piece for percussion and violin, to Chris and Nick Wilding.


    BBC Welsh Chorus recordings

    O Come, all ye Faithful (Frederick Oakeley/John Francis Wade)

    Arranger – Sir David Willcocks

    Conductor – John Hugh Thomas

    OrganistHuw Tregelles Williams

    Percussionists – Chris Stock & Mark Walker

    Fanfare Trumpeters of the Welsh Guards

    Musical Director – Lt. Col. P. Hannam, BEM



    1. http://www.altopublications.com/compstock.html
    2. http://www.classicalarchives.com/album/710357531026.html
    3. www.nigel-morgan.co.uk/files/force-download.php?file=Schizophonia.pdf
    4. http://www.alibris.com/search/music/artist/Chris%20Stock
    5. http://www.altopublications.com/percussion.html
    6. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1q_6h9OCq6k
    7. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzCRyu8Um4w
    8. http://musical.uncg.edu/uncgrr/pdfs/comp/01/COMP01837.pdf
    9. http://channelography.rattlecentral.com/programmes/b00scr6q
    10. http://www.allmusic.com/album/a-secret-place-w70322
    11. http://www.tillystips.com/dis/windback.htm
    12. http://www.altopublications.com/score%20samples/ALTOP018.pdf
    13. http://wn.com/lsceadei
    14. http://www.musicweb-international.com/classrev/2008/dec08/Spirit_NI7034.htm
    15. http://www.coryband.com/node/195
    16. http://www.ibbss.com/web/node/13
    17. http://elitepercussion.com/oldsite/profiles/dave_danford.html
    18. http://www.starnow.co.uk/WyethLD
    19. http://www.nigel-morgan.co.uk/files/flights.pdf
















    © Feenotes 2006-2013