Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

     Sutherland, Dan

    He is a clarinettist and teacher from Blind River, Ontario, who started learning to play the instrument when he was just seven years old.  He took his further studies in Toronto and went to Australia where he received more tuition in Melbourne and was a member of the Victor Junior Symphony.


    At home in Canada he performed with the Canadian National Youth Orchestra and went on to graduate with degrees from the University of Alberta and the University of Toronto.


    In 1981 he settled in Edmonton where he became a freelance musician.  He has since worked with many orchestras and ensembles including the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra, the Alberta Baroque Ensemble, the Edmonton Wind Ensemble, with whom he performed on the recording Snake Fence Country.


    A specialist of solo compositions by Canadian composers, he became a  member of the faculty of  Alberta College Conservatory of Music, MacEwan, in 1986 where he held the position of Head of Winds.


    Edmonton Wind Ensemble recordings

    Snake Fence Country (Howard Cable)

    CBC Records SMCD 5165 (CD: Snake Fence Country)

    Conductor – Harry Pinchin



    1. http://www.albertabaroque.com/DanSutherlandBio.htm
    2. http://www.macewan.ca/web/pvca/conservatory/Faculty/DetailsPage.cfm?id=724
    3. http://www.uofaweb.ualberta.ca/arts/details.cfm?ID_event=18621
    4. http://www.albertabaroque.com/2008_09Brochure.pdf
    5. CD Liner Notes: Snake Fence Country










    © Feenotes 2006-2013