Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

     Gavin Sutherland

    He is an orchestral conductor born in Durham, England.  He was introduced to music from a young age and studied at Huddersfield University where he won the Davidson Prize for Distinction brought to the Institution and the Kruczynski Prize for Piano.   He ventured into his musical career in 1992 when he became a conductor and pianist for the Northern Ballet Theatre.  He stayed with them until 1998 when he took the step of becoming freelance as a composer, conductor, arranger and pianist.  That same year he worked with the Royal Ballet Sinfonia on a recording of theirs and since that time he has performed on at least 40 CDs.  His name is now known over national and international circles and he has worked with companies such as the English National Ballet, the Royal New Zealand Ballet, Adventures in Motion Pictures, the City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra, the Scottish Festival Orchestra, the Australian Pops Philharmonic Orchestra and many more.  As a composer he has written the one-act ballet Revolting Rhymes and the musical Little Women.


    Royal Ballet Sinfonia recordings


    William Alwyn

    Suite of Scottish Dances

    ASV CD WHL 2116 (CD: British Light Music Discoveries)

    Conductor - Gavin Sutherland 



    1. http://www.transdiffusion.org/profiles/gavin_sutherland.asp
    2. http://www.naxos.com/conductorinfo/401.htm













    © Feenotes 2006-2013