Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Tilch, Karin

    Violinist from Germany who started playing at nine years of age and studied under the watchful eyes of Thomas Zehetmair and Josef Bayerlein in her homeland.


    In 1993, she joined the first-violin section of the Philharmonia.  They are also known as the London Philharmonia, the Philharmonia Orchestra and the Philharmonia Orchestra London.


    On 30th August 2005, she was the soloist at a Klassische Philharmonie NordWest concert that featured Johannes Brahms’ “Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77” as its centerpiece, sandwiched between Franz Schubert’s “Symphony No. 9 in C major” (“Great”) and Carl Maria von Weber’s Freischutz overture.


    The Philharmonia joined forces with Mitsuko Uchida for Arnold Schoenberg’s “Concerto for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 42”, followed by Gustav Mahler’s “Symphony No. 9 in D major” on 13th March 2009.


    On 30th November 2009, they teamed up with Simon Trpceski for Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s “Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in B flat minor, Op. 23”, bookended by Zoltan Kodaly’s “Dances of Galanta” and Modest Mussorgsky’s “Pictures at an Exhibition”.


    They collaborated with Joshua Bell on 25th March 2010 in an all-Beethoven affair that featured the master’s “Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, Op. 61” and “Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 55” (“Eroica”).


    On 12th September 2010, they performed Bela Bartok’s The Miraculous Mandarin suite, Hector Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique, Op. 14, and Mussorgsky’s “Una notte sul Monte Calvo” at the Conservatorio di Milano.  They interpreted Jean Sibelius’s Lemminkainen suite from Kalevala and Igor Stravinsky’s Le Sacre du Printemps in Torino on 13th September 2010.


    On 11th January 2011, Esa-Pekka Salonen conducted his own “Concerto for Violin and Orchestra” at the Grand Auditorium with soloist Leila Josefowicz on an evening that was rounded out by Bartok’s “Music for Strings, Percussion and Celestra, Sz 106” and Maurice Ravel’s “Bolero” and Ma mere l’Oye suite.


    The orchestra performed Dmitri Shostakovich’s “Concerto for Violin No. 1” with soloist Sergey Khachatryan and Tchaikovsky’s “Manfred” symphony at the Auditorio de Zaragoza on 4th February 2011 as part of the 17th Temporada de Grandes de Conciertos Primavera.



    1. http://www.philharmonia.co.uk/orchestra/players/first_violins/karin_tilch/
    2. http://www.usc.edu/libraries/archives/schoenberg/as_disco/names/groups/londonph.htm
    3. http://www.philharmonia.co.uk/thephilharmoniaorchestra/membersoftheorchestra/firstviolin/?livecurrency=EUR
    4. http://www.klassischephilharmonie.de/cgi-bin/fotoalbum.php.cgi?v=single&c=1&a=2&i=14
    5. http://www.koelner-philharmonie.de/media/content/veranstaltung/programmheft/2009-03-13.pdf
    6. http://www.philharmonie.lu/downloads/abendprogramm/1230/2009-11-30_091130_Abendprogramm_DOWNLOAD.pdf?PHPSESSID=n9mbrktdscs5pr4hgt3tff3u84
    7. http://www.philharmonie.lu/downloads/abendprogramm/1239/2010-03-25_100325_WEB.pdf?PHPSESSID=a01gdm52a4f2l4q79ni69qfaj1
    8. http://www.mitosettembremusica.it/sites/mitosettembremusica.it/files/37_12_ore_21_Musorgskij-Bartouk-Berlioz_Philharmonia_Orchestra.pdf
    9. http://www.mitosettembremusica.it/sites/mitosettembremusica.it/files/lun_13_ore_21_philharmonia.pdf
    10. http://www.musica.gulbenkian.pt/2010_2011/files/00000000/00000051_0015.pdf
    11. http://www.auditoriozaragoza.com/docs/programas/PHILHARMONIA%20ORCHESTRA%2031-1-2011.pdf













    © Feenotes 2006-2013