Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Uhlig, Alexandra

    She is a flautist born in Innsbruck. Austria, who took her first musical studies in the piano when she was five years old.  From the time she was twelve she went on to study flute and recorder at the Conservatory of Innsbruck from 1966 to 1973 and then continued her studies in flute there from 1974 until 1980.


    In 1980 she took further studies at the University for Music and Performing Arts at Vienna where she received further qualifications including her concert diploma and her teaching certificate.  She was also the winner of the “Young Musicians” competition while there.


    In 1982 she became the Principal Flute of the Austrian Youth Philharmonic and four years later she accepted a position as a member of the Vienna Symphony Orchestra.


    When the 1990s came around she became a lecturer at Vienna’s University of Music and Performing Arts in 1990 and the following year she became a member of the faculty of the Vienna Conservatory.


    She has performed nationally and internationally and as a chamber musician is a founder of the ensemble Kammerduo Vienna and The Flutists of the Vienna Symphony.  She also holds a membership with Bella Musica, The Baroque Ensemble of the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and Wiener Concert-Verein.


    She has appeared on various recordings that include J.S. Bach: Cantata No. 209 (Italian Cantata) and Fiori Musicali Triberg Vols 1-6 with the Baroque Ensemble of the Vienna Symphony Orchestra.



    1. http://www.konservatorium-wien.ac.at/studium/lehrende/details/bio/U/alexandra-uhlig/
    2. http://www.wienersymphoniker.at/musiker-und-management
    3. http://www.classicalarchives.com/artist/78722.html
    4. http://www.naxos.com/catalogue/item.asp?item_code=SM190










    © Feenotes 2006-2013