Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Weissensteiner, Ernst (1965 – Present)

    Double-bassist from Styria, Austria, who attended the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna and studied with Ludwig Streicher.


    Groups with whom he has worked include Bass Instinct, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Dolby’s Around, Klangforum Wien, the Vienna Art Orchestra, the Vienna Bass&oon Quartet, the Vienna Chamber Ensemble, Vienna Concert-Verein, the Vienna Symphony Jazz Project and the Vienna Symphony Orchestra.


    On 1st December 2008, he and violist Johannes Flieder, pianist Fabio Luisi, violinist Anton Sorokow and cellist Christoph Stradner interpreted trios by Franz Joseph Haydn and “Piano Quintet in A major, D. 667” by Franz Schubert.


    He and Damian Arenas gave the world premiere of Simon Garcia’s “Californian Duett” at the School of Advanced Musical Studies in Santiago de Compostela, Spain, on 8th July 2011. 


    On 17th February 2013, he was the double-bassist du jour when members of the Vienna Symphony Orchestra premiered “Joseph’s Lonely Heart Septet” by Hyung-ki Joo.  Hyung-ki also acted as narrator in the recital’s second act:  L’Histoire du Soldat by Igor Stravinsky.


    Recordings on which Ernst is credited include:  Balduin Sulzer:  Solo & Duets with Daniel Kublbock; Baroque Sonatas with Johannes Maria Bogner, Richard Galler and Clemens Horak; Bass Instinct, on which he arranged Raphael Weissensteiner’s “Funky Freedom” and penned his own “Cujoo”; Franz Schubert: Trout Quintet

    Forellen-Quintett D 667/Notturno D 897 and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:  Symphonies K. 385 ("Haffner") K. 551 ("Jupiter")/Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy:  Elijah/Joseph

    Haydn:  The Seasons HOB XXI:3/Franz Schubert:  Trout Quintet D 667, Notturno D

    897/Carl Orff:  Antigonae with Wolfgang Sawallisch; Mathias Ruegg:  Chamber Music Tenminusnine; Modified:  Music for Bassoon by Matthias Kronsteiner; Musikfest Schloss Weinzierl 2011 with Altenberg Trio Wien; Orchestral Works with Vienna Concert-Verein; Reinhard Suss:  Symphony/Concerto/Trio; and, Third Dream with the Vienna Art Orchestra.


    In the field of music education, he has served on the faculties of Escuela de Musica Creativa in Madrid, Spain, Konservatorium Wien Privatuniversitat, and Kunst Uni Graz.



    1. http://www.bregenzerfestspiele.com/en/bioernstweissensteiner11-0
    2. http://musicacreativa.com/ernst-weissensteiner/?lang=en
    3. http://www.eaem.es/pdfs/EAEM_CURSO_ORQUESTA_ENG.pdf
    4. http://eventful.com/vienna/events/fabio-luisi-piano-anton-sorokow-violin-johannes-flie-/E0-001-017511962-1
    5. http://www.kug.ac.at/en/studies-further-education/studies/all-studies/double-bass.html
    6. http://www.spartanpress.co.uk/spweb/details.php?catno=RM460
    7. http://www.wienersymphoniker.at/concert/pid/000000e9h5850001c3fa
    8. http://www.bassoon.at/
    9. http://www.instantencore.com/contributor/contributor.aspx?CId=5146775
    10. http://www.vao.at/v2/display.php?id=281
    11. http://www.allmusic.com/artist/ernst-weissensteiner-mn0001726936/credits
    12. http://www.musicweb-international.com/classrev/2005/Oct05/bass_instinct_CM28089.htm
    13. http://www.classicalarchives.com/artist/40069.html
    14. http://www.allmusic.com/album/mathias-r%C3%BCegg-chamber-music-tenminusnine-mw0002279087
    15. http://www.arkivmusic.com/classical/album.jsp?album_id=594687
    16. http://www.philipp-zeller.com/en/discography
    17. http://www.classicalarchives.com/album/881488120417.html
    18. http://classical.premieremusic.net/catalog/cd/VMS173/
    19. http://www.bocksmusicshop.at/jazzina_cd.asp















    © Feenotes 2006-2013