Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

     Wells, Virginia Chen

    She is a violinist of Taiwanese parentage born in Radford, Virginia.  She grew up in Kingsport, Tennessee, graduating from the Dobyns-Bennett High School and taking further studies on an Angier Biddle Duke Scholarship awarded by Duke University.  She also studied at the Manhattan School of Music and went on to become a professional orchestral musician. 


    She has held positions as Concertmaster, Assistant Concertmaster and Principal Second Violin with the Augusta Symphony Orchestra, the Kitchen-Waterloo Symphony, the KWCMS Piano Quartet, the Manhattan Symphony Orchestra and the Round Top Festival Orchestra and in 1987 worked at the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival under the conductorship of Leonard Bernstein. 


    In 1991 she became a member of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and continues to perform with them.  She has appeared on numerous recordings and performed on many tours with the Toronto Symphony as well as being involved with other ensembles.  These include the Bach Consort, the Canadian Opera Company Orchestra, the Canadian Chamber Ensemble, the Music Minstrels who perform music for a cancer centre in Toronto and her own string trio have been resident at the Pacific Rim Festival.  


    Recordings that she has featured on include Grande Passion: World Sinfonia by Al Di Meola, The Day After That by Liza Minnelli, Adeste Fidelis by Gino & Louis Quillico and Judy Loman with the Toronto Symphony & Children’s Chorus, Molly Johnson by Molly Johnson and the cast recording of Show Boat.


    Toronto Symphony Orchestra Recordings

    CBC SMCD 5119 I (CD - Adeste Fidelis)

    Toronto Symphony Orchestra and Children's Chorus

    Conductor - Jean Ashworth Bartle

    Soloists - Louis and Gino Quilico



    1. http://www.tso.ca/season/about/about02.01.cfm?ID=403
    2. http://timesnews.net/article.php?id=9006326
    3. http://www.communications.uwaterloo.ca/Gazette/1994/Gazette,%20June%201,%201994/Cecilia%20on%20Music

    4.      http://www.allmusic.com/cg/amg.dll?p=amg&sql=11:0zfixqygld6e~T4

    1. http://www.discogs.com/Liza-Minnelli-The-Day-After-That/release/1690410








    © Feenotes 2006-2013