Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Wickens, Andrew

    Violinist who attended the Conservatory of St. Cecilia and went on to become a member of Classical Folk and the Philharmonia Orchestra of London.


    He appears on the Philharmonia’s recordings of The Big Country and Lawrence of Arabia soundtracks, as well as Les Miserables:  The Complete Symphonic Recording.


    On 23rd April 2005, the Philharmonia joined forces with pianist Emanuel Ax and soprano Angela Denoke for a program that included Ludwig van Beethoven’s “Piano Concerto No. 5 in E flat, Op. 73” (“Emperor”), Richard Strauss’s Also sprach Zarathustra, and the “Prelude and Liebestod” from Richard Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde.


    Andrew teamed up with pianist Liz Hills for a summer charity concert on 17th July 2010 at Horsham Unitarian Church, where he also serves as Treasurer.  Their summer-themed recital included “Summertime” by George Gershwin, “The Lark Ascending” by Ralph Vaughan Williams, and “Summer” from Antonio Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons.  They reprised the concert on 29th July 2010 at the Old Meeting House in Ditching, East Sussex, England.


    On 30th October 2010, Classical Folk performed a concert to benefit UNICEF at Haywards Heath.  They appeared at St. Peter’s Church in Petersfield on 5th February 2011. 


    On 9th February 2011, Andrew and Liz reunited at Horsham Unitarian Church for a Valentine concert that included works by Antonin Dvorak, Franz Liszt, Sergei Rachmaninoff, Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky, and Antonio Vivaldi.



    1. http://www.beaconparishes.org/documents/TheBeaconMay2010web.pdf
    2. http://www.artistdirect.com/nad/store/artist/album/0,,119592,00.html
    3. http://www.cdconnection.com/details/_-_89_-_Lawrence_of_Arabia_%28Osc%29_-_Score_/246142&s=BRuRhGcYeo6e
    4. http://www.cdconnection.com/details/samples/246157
    5. http://www.philharmonia.co.uk/thesoundexchange/projects/liveevent/images/prog_notes.pdf
    6. http://ukunitarians.org.uk/horsham/newsletters/July2010.pdf
    7. http://www.ditchling.com/viewevent.php?id=1015
    8. http://www.julierobertsmusic.co.uk/













    © Feenotes 2006-2013