Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Wilkinson, Eleanor

    Violinist from Lurgan, Northern Ireland, who started played at six years of age and attended the Hochschule fur Musik in Vienna, Austria, and the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester, England.  Her teachers were Chad Koelmeyer, Franz Samohyl, Josef Suk, and Yossi Zivoni. 


    She joined the Philharmonia Orchestra in the late 1980s and appeared on their recordings of The Big Country and Lawrence of Arabia soundtracks in the 1990s. 


    Other groups with whom she has worked include the Haydn Sinfonietta, the Knighton Chamber Orchestra, the Ulster Orchestra, the Vienna Chamber Opera, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, and the Waveney Sinfonia.


    On 14th January 2006, she performed Max Bruch’s “Violin Concerto” with the Waveney Sinfonia at Trinity Methodist Church in Lowestoft, Suffolk, England.


    She played Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s “Violin Concerto No. 2 in D K211” and was the guest leader on Ludwig van Beethoven’s “Symphony No. 2” in concert with the Knighton Chamber Orchestra at St. Dionysus Church in Leicestershire on 12th July 2008.


    On 30th November 2009, the Philharmonia Orchestra offered up Zoltan Kodaly’s “Danses de Galanta”, Modest Mussorgsky’s Tableaux d’une exposition, and Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s “Concerto pour piano et orchestre No. 1 en si bemol mineur op. 23”, with Simon Trpceski at the keys.



    1. http://www.philharmonia.co.uk/orchestra/players/first_violins/eleanor_wilkinson/
    2. www.lmrf.lt/get_file.php?id=20
    3. http://music.barnesandnoble.com/Lawrence-of-Arabia/Original-Score/e/738572101022
    4. http://www.emusic.com/album/Philharmonia-Orchestra-The-Big-Country-MP3-Download/11258138.html
    5. http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/chrisboon/waveneysinfonia/archive.htm
    6. http://suffolkinfolink.suffolkcc.gov.uk/records/OrganisationRecord.jsp?display=11790&query=_type:%22Organisation%22%20AND%20%28%22Classical%20music%22%29&general=%22Classical+music%22&category=Search%20All&type=Organisation&hitsPerPage=10&doc=8&maxdoc=13&defaultor=false&sortField=_dateedited&sortDirection=descending&queryParameter=general&defaultfield=_body&searchMode=Quick
    7. http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&sugexp=ldymls&xhr=t&q=lowestoft+suffolk&cp=13&client=firefox-a&hs=wLZ&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hq=&hnear=Lowestoft,+Suffolk,+UK&gl=us&ei=Dc9STeTgIYmr8QPi47mjCw&sa=X&oi=geocode_result&ct=title&resnum=1&sqi=2&ved=0CB4Q8gEwAA
    8. http://www.cigol.com/review/rev0708.html
    9. http://www.the-archer.co.uk/archive/2008/2008Apr10.pdf
    10. http://www.philharmonie.lu/downloads/abendprogramm/1230/2009-11-30_091130_Abendprogramm_DOWNLOAD.pdf?PHPSESSID=n9mbrktdscs5pr4hgt3tff3u84










    © Feenotes 2006-2013