Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Yoshii, Kentaro

    Cellist from Tokyo, Japan, who took his first lessons with his father at six years of age.  His mother was a pianist and this early experience informed his later career as a chamber and orchestral musician.  He attended Tokyo University of the Arts High School and, the Conservatory and University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna, Austria.  His teachers included Emmanuel Feuermann, Wolfgang Herzer, Nikolaus Huebner, Keishi Miki and Ushichi Omura.


    His break came when the Vienna Symphony Orchestra hired him as an extra in 1973.  This led to an audition and eventual full-time membership in the orchestra in 1975.


    In 1977, he and his wife pianist Renate Yoshii-Cordis and violinist Werner Ehrenhofer recorded Johannes Brahms’ “Piano Trio No. 1 in B major, Op. 8” at Schloss Esterhazy in Eisenstadt. 


    In a husband-and-wife effort, he and Renate appeared at Konzerthaus Klagenfurt on 15th December 1978 when they performed Brahms’ “Cello Sonata No. 2 in F major, Op. 99”, Francois Francoeur’s “Cello Sonata in E major” and Franz Schubert’s “Sonata for Arpeggione and Piano in A minor, D. 821”.


    On 26th June 2003, he and violist Herbert Muller, violinist Akiko Tanaka and pianist Mihaela Ursuleasa interpreted Brahms’ “Piano Quartet”, and were joined by concertmaster Fuminori Maro Shinozaki for Antonin Dvorak’s “Piano Quintet, Op. 81”.


    He and clarinetist Wilfried Gottwald, pianist Maria Pagliafora and violist Ulrich Schonauer assembled in Brahmssaal at Musikverein on 12th December 2005.  Their program comprised Beethoven’s “12 Variations on a Theme from Judas Maccabaus by G.F. Handel”, Brahms’ “Trio, Op. 144”, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s ‘Trio, K. 498” (“Kegelstatt-Trio”) and Robert Schumann’s “Fantasy Pieces, Op. 73”.


    On 25th April 2006, he and violinist Helmut Lackinger and pianist Naomi Suzuki performed in the same venue.  Their recital included Brahms’ “Sonata for Cello and Piano in E minor, Op. 38”, Edvard Grieg’s “Violin Sonata in G major, Op. 23”, Felix Mendelssohn’s “Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 49” and Mozart’s “Piano Trio in B major, K. 502”.


    The Vienna Symphony Orchestra and Eroica Trio interpreted Beethoven’s “Concerto for Violin, Cello and Piano in C major, Op. 56” (“Triple Concerto”) in Foellinger Great Hall at the Krannert Center for the Performing Arts on 8th November 2011.  The concert concluded with Brahms’ “Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73”.


    Recordings on which Kentaro appears include Christmas with Placido Domingo and Klarinetten-Facetten with Wilfried Gottwald.



    1. http://www.sonare-art-office.co.jp/artists_all-e.html
    2. http://video.pravac.com/play/Av6bpkSXuJw/
    3. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XfFOdZEVDew
    4. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPyU3ZWGm_c
    5. http://www.sodon.mn/tube/?/D821/page13.html
    6. http://critic.antville.org/stories/429633/
    7. http://cdn2.vol.at/2005/07/konzertprogramm_der_wiener_symphoniker_2005_bis_2006.pdf
    8. http://www.krannertcenter.com/images/cm/2011511153925496128174106178/ViennaSymphonyProgram.pdf
    9. http://www.allmusic.com/artist/kentaro-yoshii-mn0001216152/credits















    © Feenotes 2006-2013