Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Calderon, Juan Carlos (1936-Present)

    He was born in Santander, Cantabria, Spain.   In 1960 he became a member of a jazz quartet in Cantabria and three years later they moved to Madrid to record their first song. In 1968 he published Carlos Calderon Presents Juan Carlos Calderon and wrote several successful songs for Juan Manuel Serrat and Lui Eduardo Aute.  In 1973 he composed "You Are You" for the group Youth to sing in the Eurovision Song Contest, which came in second and sold 1.5 million copies in the United States.  He has written Spain's entry for the song contest in 1975, 1985 and 1989.  In 1981 he moved to Los Angeles where he continued to compose, arrange and do jazz interpretation.  He wrote songs that were covered by Herb Alpert, with "Route 101" becoming a chart hit for him, and has collaborated with artists including Miguel Rivers and Ricky Martin.  He has also written music for many Spanish films and TV series as well as winning many gold and platinum discs for the international sale of his records.


    Herb Alpert Recordings

    Route 101 (Juan Carlos Calderon)                                                                              

    Angel (Juan Carlos Calderon)                                                                         



    1. www.keithm.utvinternet.ie/EresTu.htm








    © Feenotes 2006-2013