Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Edmonton Wind Ensemble

    The Edmonton Wind Ensemble was put together for a TV show in 1979.  The show was called Concert in the Park and was co-hosted by Diane Jones-Konohowski and Harry Pinchin.  The gimmick of the show was that it was set in the first part of the twentieth century and the musicians were dressed in period costumes.  The production was so successful that after it was over, the ensemble stayed together.  A CD entitled Concert in the Park was released in 1988.  In 1997, they released Snake Fence Country, named after the Howard Cable composition thereon. 


    Edmonton Wind Ensemble recordings

    Snake Fence Country (Howard Cable)

    CBC SMCD 5165 (Snake Fence Country)

    Director – Harry Pinchin



    Eddie Bayens (Bassoon)

    Dennis Beck (Clarinet)

    Gordon Brock (Baritone Saxophone)

    Bill Dimmer (Cornet)

    Susan Dunstan (Euphonium)

    Rick Garn (Alto Saxophone)

    Karen Goldberg (Clarinet)

    Dawn Hage (Trumpet)

    Colin Haydu (Euphonium)

    David Hoyt (Horn)

    Don Hyder (Oboe)

    Daniel Johnson (Cornet)

    David Jones (Cornet)

    Elizabeth Koch (Flute)

    Andrew Lehocky (Horn)

    Alvin Lowrey (Cornet/Trumpet)

    Kathryn Macintosh (Trombone)

    John Mahon (Clarinet)

    Scott Martin (Timpani)

    Ivan Mast (Trombone)

    Karen Noel-Bently (Clarinet)

    Gerald Oneiul (Horn)

    Diane Persson (Bassoon)

    Jim Pinchin (Tenor Saxophone)

    Donald Plumb (Horn)

    Dennis Prime (Clarinet)

    David Quinn (Clarinet)

    Ken Read (Bass Trombone)

    Kerry Rittich (Piccolo)

    Paul Schieman (Oboe)

    Murray Smith (Percussion)

    Bill Street (Alto Saxophone)

    Dan Sutherland (Clarinet)

    Leonard Swanson (Tuba)

    John Taylor (Double Bass)

    Robin Taylor (Contra/Bass Clarinet)

    Brian Thurgood (Percussion)

    Scott Whetham (Tuba)

    Russell Whitehead (Trumpet)

    Geoff Whittall (Percussion)

    Shelley Younge (Flute)



    1. http://www.classicsonline.com/ensemblebio/Edmonton_Wind_Ensemble/
    2. http://www.zoominfo.com/people/Beck_Dennis_9154160.aspx
    3. http://www.uofaweb.ualberta.ca/music2/alowrey.cfm
    4. Liner notes:  Snake Fence Country










    © Feenotes 2006-2013