Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    English String Orchestra (English Symphony Orchestra)

    This orchestra was founded in Malvern, Worcester , England , in 1980, as part of the English

    Symphony Orchestra, by William Boughton. Their co-leaders have included the violinist Nic Hallowfield.  The orchestra have made several recordings and are known to champion works by English composers such as Butterworth Vaughan Williams, Bridge and Finzi.  They are regular participants in international festivals and concerts and have been hosts to soloists including Nigel Kennedy, Emmanuel Ax and Evelyn Glennie.


    Tomaso Giovanni Albinoni recordings

    Adagio in G minor

    Nimbus NI 7019

    Conductor - William Boughton  



    1. http://music.barnesandnoble.com/search/artistbio.asp?CTR=14248&z=y
    2. http://www.eso.co.uk/about_the_eso.php







    © Feenotes 2006-2013