Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    King's Consort, The  

    This orchestra was founded in England in 1980 and is a partner to the Choir of the King's Consort.  It has become internationally acclaimed with many worldwide tours to their credit.  Their repertoire covers a period of over 250 years from 1600-1860 and they are known for their performances of Purcell's The Fairy Queen and several works by Bach, along with many others.  Appearing on the television they have performed in the BBC Proms seven times and in the opening concert of BBC's Purcell Celebrations.  They have staged operas in several locations in the world including Handel's Ottone and Ezio and The Indian Queen by Purcell.  They recordings number 95 or over, their sales total over one million copies with albums such as the ten volumes of Vivaldi's Sacred Music, The Coronation of King George II, Haydn's Requiem and the  world premiere of Purcell's complete Odes, Solo Songs and Sacred Music.  At the movies they have been a soundtrack orchestra for The Chronicles of Narnia, Pirates of the Caribbean, The Da Vinci Code, Flushed Away and The Kingdom of Heaven. 


    Tomaso Giovanni Albinoni recordings

    Concerto in C Major for Trumpet, 3 Oboes, Bassoon and Continuo

    Hyperion 66383 (CD: Wind Concertos)

    Conductor  - Robert King


    Concerto No. 6 for 2 oboes in G Major, Op. 9

    Hyperion 66383 (CD: Wind Concertos)

    Oboe - Paul Goodwin

    Oboe - Lorraine Wood



    1. http://www.tkcworld.com/
    2. http://www.hyperion-records.co.uk/artist_page.asp?name=kingsconsort
    3. http://imdb.com/company/co0152630/







    © Feenotes 2006-2013