Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search

    Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden

    The orchestra was founded in 1946 under the name the Covent Garden Orchestra.  Its first Musical Director was Karl Rankl and the theatre had re-opened as England's first permanent residence for opera and ballet.  Although predominantly playing for the Royal Opera and the Royal Ballet, the orchestra has appeared many times in the studio and in concerts.   It has had many top international conductors including John Barbirolli, Otto Klemperer, Richard Bonynge, Sir Georg Solti, Sir Colin Davis and Sir Bernard Haitink and has played host to many of the world's acclaimed soloist performers.


    Adolphe Charles Adam Recordings

    London 417 505 (2 CD set  - Giselle)

    Conductor - Richard Bonynge

    This recording is the original unedited version as written and debuted in 1841.



    1. http://info.royaloperahouse.org/Orchestra/Index.cfm?SubNavMenu=4






    © Feenotes 2006-2013