Home & News About Feenotes Contact Feenotes Calendar Search the site
  • artists A to C
  • artists D to E
  • artists F to J
  • artists K
  • artists L
  • artists M
  • artists N
  • artists O
  • artists P to R
  • artists S to T
  • artists U to Z

  • Composers
  • composers A to E
  • composers F to J
  • composers K to O
  • composers P to T
  • composers U to Z

  • Groups
  • groups A to E
  • groups F to J
  • groups K to O
  • groups P to T
  • groups U to Z

  • Music
  • music A to E
  • music F to J
  • music K to O
  • music P to T
  • music U to Z

  • Site Search
  • search

  • Calendar
  • calendar

  • Forums
  • view forums
  • login
  • register
  • search


    (Isaac Albeniz)


    This piece of music was originally meant to be included in the 12-movement Iberia, but this work was still not complete when he had amassed the other movements.  The piece was left unfinished at Albeniz' death in 1909, but was completed by the composer Deodat de Severac who had worked as his assistant.  The violinist/composer Enrique Fernandoz Arbos made an orchestration of it along with the final four Iberia movements and it is often performed alongside them.  The music has a jota rhythm and "dreamy" melody and imitates the sound of gentle Spanish guitar music.  Although written for piano, it has been arranged in many different styles with numerous guitar transcriptions, including a longer version transcribed by William Bolcom.


    Janina Fialkowska recordings

    CBC 1114 (CD: La Jongleuse)

    Piano - Janina Fialkowska


    Alicia de Larrocha recordings

    DG 289 476 1490

    Piano - Alicia de Larrocha




    1. http://www.answers.com/topic/navarra-for-piano-in-a-flat-major-b-49-completed-by-s-v-rac
    2. http://www.classicstoday.com/review.asp?ReviewNum=8933






    © Feenotes 2006-2013