Print Shortlink

Boddicker, Michael (19th January 1953-Present)

He is a synthesiser player, singer and film composer born Michael Lehmann Boddicker who studied at Coe College, Iowa. After graduation he worked as an extremely sought after session musician, appearing on several hit songs and albums including “We Are the World”.

In the early 1980s he started to get his work as a film composer and musician noticed and has since worked on the film scores/soundtracks for movies such as The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension, The Adventures of Milo and Otis, Arachnophobia, Arthur, Bulletproof, The Color Purple, Footloose, Free Willy, Freejack, Get Crazy, Harley Davidson & The Marlboro Man, The Hunt for Red October, The Magic Egg, No Way Out, Out for Justice, Outland, Robocop 3, Saturday Night Fever, White Water Summer, The Wiz, Working Girl, Xanadu and the Grammy Award winning Flashdance.

Working with a huge number of singers and musicians throughout his career he has performed with acts such as America, Ashford & Simpson, The Association, Patti Austin, Laura Branigan, Johnnie Bristol, Elkie Brooks, The Brothers Johnson, Chicago, Stanley Clarke, Climax Blues Band, Natalie Cole, Michel Colombier, Paulinho DaCosta, Peter Cetera, Joe Cocker, Christopher Cross, Roger Daltrey, The Charlie Daniels Band, Celine Dion, George Duke, Robbie Dupree, Sheena Easton, David Foster, Aretha Franklin, Steve Goodman, Don Henley, Julio Iglesias, James Ingram, Chaz Jankel, Maurice Jarre, Patrick Juvet, Patti LaBelle, Kenny Loggins, Melissa Manchester, The Manhattan Transfer, Hugh Masakela, Country Joe McDonald, Bette Midler, Motley Crue, Randy Newman, Juice Newton, Maxine Nightingale, No Doubt, Ray Parker Jr., Greg Phillinganes , Poco, The Pointer Sisters, Minnie Riperton, Smokey Robinson , Tom Scott , Rick Springfield, The Temptations, Maurice White and Lenny Williams.

The extortionate amount of albums he features on include Rise by Herb Alpert , Give Me the Night by George Benson, Lost Without Your Love by Bread, Boats Against the Current by Eric Carmen, Genius & Soul: The 50th Anniversary Collection by Ray Charles, Commodores 13 by The Commodores, 20th Century Masters: The Millennium Collection by The Dazz Band, Heartlight by Neil Diamond , Peddlin‘ Music on the Side by Lamont Dozier, Raise! By Earth, Wind & Fire, Dr. Heckle & Mr. Jive by England Dan & John Ford Coley, Jose Feliciano by Jose Feliciano, Oasis by Roberta Flack, Scissors Cut by Art Garfunkel , Amoroso/Brasil by Joao Gilberto, Lite Me Up by Herbie Hancock, Candles by Heatwave, Whitney by Whitney Houston, Thriller by Michael Jackson, Destiny by The Jacksons, Breakin‘ Away by Al Jarreau, I Heard That by Quincy Jones, 25th Anniversary Edition by KC & The Sunshine Band, Seduction by James Last, One Voice by Barry Manilow, Mathis Magic by Johnny Mathis , If That’s What It Takes by Michael McDonald, Physical by Olivia Newton John, I’m No Hero by Cliff Richard, Can’t Slow Down by Lionel Richie, Mad Love by Linda Ronstadt , Diana’s Duets by Diana Ross , Inner Secrets by Santana, Here by Leo Sayer , Middle Man by Boz Scaggs , Distance by Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band, Hearts and Bones by Paul Simon , House of Love by Candi Staton, Wet by Barbra Streisand, She Works Hard for the Money by Donna Summer, He Who Rides the Tiger by Bernie Taupin, and Hydra by Toto.

He now owns his own Sol Seven Recording studio in Sherman Oaks, California, and continues to perform and compose for commercials, television and film.

The Manhattan Transfer Recordings
Body & Soul (Edward Heyman/Robert Sour/Frank Eyton/Johnny Green )
Atlantic: K11476 B (UK45)