Print Shortlink

Cobb, J.R. (5th February 1944-4th May 2019)

He was a guitarist and singer-songwriter born in Birmingham, Alabama who was a member of the 1960s group Classics IV.

He became a member of Atlanta Rhythm Section in 1971 on guitar and vocals, and co-wrote many of their songs including the successful “Champagne Jam”.   He also wrote or co-wrote the songs “Traces”, “Spooky” and “Stormy” for Classics IV, “Rock Bottom” for Wynonna Judd and the hit song “Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy”.

Artists he worked with through the years are many and include Johnny Cash, Frankie & Johnny, The Highwaymen, Wynonna Judd, Al Kooper, Kris Kristofferson, Billy Joe Royal and Hank Snow among others.

He was a member of the Alabama and Georgia Music Hall of Fame and is currently in The Dirty Blues Band alongside artists such as Ray Manzarek.

Albums he appeared on over the course of his career include Back Up Against The Wall, Champagne Jam, Quinella and Third Annual Pipe Dream by Atlanta Rhythm Section, Heroes by Johnny Cash & Waylon Jennings, City of New Orleans by Willie Nelson, King of Hearts by Roy Orbison and the soundtrack of Lost Highway.

He died of a heart attack in May 2019 when he was 75 years old.

Atlantic Rhythm Section recordings
Champagne Jam (Buddy Buie/Robert Nix/J.R. Cobb)
Silver Eagle (Buddy Buie/J.R. Cobb)