Print Shortlink

Toronto Symphony Orchestra

The Toronto Symphony Orchestra was founded in 1922 by the Viennese conductor Luigi von Kunits and a group of musicians from Toronto.  It was initially called The New Symphony Orchestra and renamed the Toronto Symphony Orchestra 4 years later.

Sir Ernest MacMillan became the Musical Director after the death of Luigi von Kunits in 1931, and he was to become the longest standing director in their history with 25 years under his conductorship.  Other conductors/artistic directors have included Walter Susskind, Seiji Ozawa, Victor Feldbrill, Sir Andrew Davis, Gunther Herbig and Jukka-Pekka Saraste, and the position is currently held by Peter Oundjian.

In 1982 the Orchestra moved from the Massey Hall to the Roy Thomson Hall which is still their home.  They perform frequent radio broadcasts and have played host to internationally recognized musicians such as Yo-Yo Ma, Maxim Vengerov, Jessye Norman and Martha Argerich.

They have toured extensively with concerts in Carnegie Hall and other US venues, Europe, Japan and Australia.  Their recording of Lemminkainen Suite by Sibelius won them a Juno award in 2001 for Best Classical Album: Large Ensemble Category.

Adolphe Charles Adam Recordings
Cantique de Noel
Toronto Symphony Orchestra and Children’s Chorus
Conductor – Jean Ashworth Bartle
Soloists – Louis and Gino Quilico

Leroy Anderson Recordings
Concerto in C for Piano and Orchestra
Spy Recordings  SPY SRCD-1001 (CD: The Music of Leroy Anderson)
Conductor  – Skitch Henderson
Piano – Catharine Wilson