Print Shortlink

Los Angeles Suite Aquarelle

(Laurindo Almeida)

This suite for a guitar quartet or quintet was composed by Laurindo Almeida using the inspiration of what the composer saw in his mind at the time when looking at everyday scenes.  The piece is written with six movements that were said to be a “mood canvas” that captures each theme.  The music uses the sound of band music, jazz, blues and a Latin mixture.  The moves are:

  • (i)  North Hollywood
  • (ii) Sunset Boulevard
  • (iii) Latin Quarter
  • (iv) San Fernando Mission
  • (v) Beverly Hills
  • (vi) Harbor Freeway

Washington Guitar Quintet & Charlie Byrd recordings
Concord Concerto CD-42016 (CD: Aquarelle)