Print Shortlink

Suite of Carols for Brass Choir (Anderson)

(Leroy Anderson)

This suite written by Leroy Anderson was completed in August 1955 and premiered by the composer when he recorded it for Decca in August of that year.  Comprising seven movements, Leroy Anderson selected carols that he thought would sound better for a brass choir rather than another genre of instrument, i.e. strings or woodwind, which would each be given their own individual suites.  The movements comprise the carols:

  • (i) While By My Sheep
  • (ii) In Dulci Jubilo
  • (iii) Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming
  • (iv) I Saw Three Ships
  • (v) From Heaven High I Come To You
  • (vi) We Three Kings of Orient Are
  • (vii) March of the Kings

Leroy Anderson and His Orchestra recordings
Decca B0003552-02 (CD: A Leroy Anderson Christmas)