Print Shortlink

Suite of Carols for String Orchestra (Anderson)

(Leroy Anderson)

Written by Leroy Anderson in 1955 this suite was premiered by the composer when he recorded it in September of that year for Decca.  It comprises six carols that were hand picked for their suitability to strings rather then for other instruments such as brass and woodwind, which also have their own suites.  The six carols are:

  • (i) Pastores a Belen
  • (ii) It Came Upon a Midnight Clear
  • (iii) O Little Town of Bethlehem
  • (iv) Bring a Torch Jeanette, Isabella
  • (v) Away in a Manger
  • (vi) Wassail Song

Leroy Anderson and His Orchestra recordings
Decca B0003552-02 (CD: A Leroy Anderson Christmas)